Would like input on Tigger's numbers (again) Please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Very Active Member
Hello,

It's been a rough 2 days here - our daughter & family moved in over the weekend & normally very quiet home has become more chaotic. Our 2 other indoor cats are handling it well, but Tigger's spending most of his time under the bed or outside - today he ran away for a few hours but we finally found him nearby & kept him in after that, much to his chagrin.

We upped Tigger's insulin dose to 1.25 units on the 19th & while he's done better - some blues, & even blues at later time nadirs, he's leveling off, but could that be to the added stress?

I'm wondering if I should up the dose at this point the next day I can monitor or should I hold this dose awhile longer? What do you think?

I'd sure appreciate the input from more experienced people.

Thanks so much you guys!
 
Tigger's Friend said:
...
We upped Tigger's insulin dose to 1.25 units on the 19th & while he's done better - some blues, & even blues at later time nadirs, he's leveling off, but could that be to the added stress?

I'm wondering if I should up the dose at this point the next day I can monitor or should I hold this dose awhile longer? What do you think?...

If you'll be home to monitor, I think it would be OK to do another increase when you are available to monitor. Also, the stress could be affecting him some - a Feliway diffuser in his favorite room may be helpful.
 
Thanks, BJM,

I dis put a feliway diffuser in his room - I think it's helping. It's going to take some time, though.

Numbers today are actually better. AMPS = 269; +3.5 = 145.

He's going to Anne & Tess's vet Thursday & we'll get a status on the stomatitis & lungs to see if we have any infection affecting the numbers.
 
I agree that an increase is fine, if you monitor. Yes, stress causes bg levels to rise so the infusion of strangers may be impacting his numbers. Hope you like the new vet!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top