ok, i'm back. i had to go back and read what advice you've already been given and refresh my memory about spot's story!
lantus has a curve to it. the curve (and i'm going to describe "typical" cat's response, but cats can vary) on an unregulated cat new on insulin often looks more like a "V" - the highest numbers are at preshots and some cats have a much lower mid-cycle number.
so for example, maybe a cat will be 300-400 at preshot in the morning, then 100 mid-day and zoom back up to 300 by evening.
so you think "OMG if that dose made my cat drop 200 points, how can i possibly give the same dose if i see a preshot of 150?"
as the cat gets better regulated, the preshot numbers will come down and the same dose that caused a huge drop in the beginning might only move them 50 points to the lowest number now. the preshot could be 125 and the low point of the cycle could be 60. now the curve might look more like a "u" instead of a "V."
a cat that is well-regulated and possibly on it's way to going off of insulin, might have the exact same dose, but the curve might be more of a line! the preshot number might be 85, the low point 55, and the preshot in the evening 80. in this cat, the curve looks like "_".
so this is a process - we like to say "it's a marathon, not a sprint." there's no hurrying a cat to get regulated, but it's worth the work when you get to say "spot is acting and playing like i haven't seen in a while!" you'll get spot there, but it won't happen overnight. he didn't get sick overnight either, and diabetes takes a while to get regulated.
on your
Saturday 4/28 post i included a link on 2 things that throw off the curve - one is "new dose wonkiness" where the cat's numbers can increase for a day or so after a dose increase, the other is partway down the "NDW" link and it describes bouncing. it's common for a cat to bounce. that's not a terrible thing, it says that their liver is doing what it's supposed to do. but it takes experience to see bounces and it's important to not increase a dose during a bounce. people who are experienced can help you see what's going on on spot's ss. take a look at that post from saturday again - there's lots of good information in there for you.
i hope all goes well at the vet for you - i know you're worried. it's hard having a kitter not feeling well.
for tonight, that 95 isn't terrible, i would just set my cell phone alarm and get up and test him again as i mentioned above to make sure you catch him if he goes below 50.
hang in there - the beginning when you don't really understand is the absolute hardest part for everyone. it gets easier. really.