Won't eat didn't give shot Bg rising advise please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula

Member Since 2014
Hi all,
Its me again. Michael's Mom, Paula
The vet changed Michael's diet to low-carb, high protein. On Thurs 7/10/14,started gradual change from y/d to friskies pate & ff classic. This change has only been for 2 days.
He seemed to like the new food. I tried a different flavor, and he wouldn't eat, so I gave him the turkey & gliblets that he really liked. Still wouldn't eat. His bg pre shot was 230. because he wouldn't eat, I didn't give him a shot. Now it is at 411 1hr after he should have had a shot. He appears to be ok. Why would this happen? Is his body trying to adjust to the diet change? I suspect his bg will be high.
Thanks to all in advance.
Paula & kitty Michael
 
When he won't eat, the glucose may continue to rise as fat is broken down for calories. Also, if insulin is given, it may prompt eating.

A token dose of Lantus would help maintain the depot. You might try 1/4 to 1/2 of his regular dose if you can be home to monitor.
 
Thanks, BJM

Could he be having a pancreatic attack due the transitioning to the new diet?
 
Sudden food changes are known to upset the GI tract with diarrhea, vomiting, or inappetance, so I would think it is possible.

Its why we often suggest a gradual switch of 20-25% different food each day (or two or more if upset happens).
 
I agree with BJM. If he's not eating the new food, then try to add a little of his old food back into the mixture, and then slowly transition him gradually to the new food. Maybe a teaspoon at a time. It can take a week or a week and a half to get him onto the new food completely. I wish you luck. Is he eating today?
 
Thanks for the replies Dyana & BJM
I have been giving him 1/2 of his old food and 1/2 of his new food. Up until last night he was eating. This morning he ate about 2 teaspoons wouldn't eat anymore. His bg was 318. He is drinking and using the lb o.k. Today, Sunday, he seems to be a bit lethargic, but it is hard to tell. Right now he is looking out the window at the birds. I didn't give him his am shot because he didn't eat enough and I don't want him to go hypo. If he is not eating by tomorow I will take him to the vet.
 
Hi Paula. Do you have ketone test strips? I would test for ketones to rule those out.
If he has any ketones, then he needs the insulin, and he needs to eat, or the ketones could get worse.
 
Hi Dyana.
I will get some. Where can I get them? I'm now thinking it might be a reaction to the HyperT Med. Tapazole.
The side effects are lack of appetite also. It's really hard to tell. The vet changed his diet and put him on tapazole so we could regulate the "D".
I hope all this works out.
Paula
 
The least expensive I think is the ReliOn brand from WalMart.
Every pharmacy will have ketone test strips, but some don't keep them on the counter with the other diabetic supplies, and in that case you would have to ask the pharmacist as they may have them in back.
 
Thanks for the Info Dyana.
It's greatly appreciated. His bg has gone from 318 (4:45am) to 407 (8:00am).
I will go get some strips. He still isn't eating. Will Beechnut baby food hurt him?
Paula
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top