Wiggle Worm's weight

Status
Not open for further replies.

acccourt

Member
Hello

Wiggle Worm's AMPS was 239 and his PMPS are 268. I gave him .5 units each time. He is eating about 3 cans of FF a day. He gets around fairly well for his age. He just to me seems like he is losing weight. I am really at a loss of how to put weight on him. He was always such a big boy (14 pounds), and now he looks so much thinner
 
Is he eating as much as he wants to? Do you think he doesn't like the food, maybe need to try other foods? Or he's lost weight from a change to canned food?

If he lost weight before you got his #s better regulated, it could take some time to put the weight back on.

Just some random thoughts :). If you have more thoughts on what the pattern is - weight change since diagnosis, or since food change, etc., that might help pinpoint what is going on.

Also if it seems mysterious, might be worth a vet trip, could be something else going on too.
 
If it's just recent, like since recent dose reductions, could be the dose is too low? Have symptoms like peeing & drinking a lot changed recently?
 
I do get people mixed up, but did you think he might have a tumor? I am thinking you didn't care for your vet and posted for ideas. Did anyone reply? If I have the right cat, maybe it is time to get it checked out?
 
He has been losing weight since his diagnosis of diabetes about 8 or 9 months ago. The weight loss could be from something else, I just don't know. I hate to change vets since she knows all of his history. She is just not very optimistic about him because of his age. I just keep trying to do the best I can and show him how much I love him. He loves to be babied and hand fed with a spoon. I just keep doing it because I almost lost him at Easter. He knows he is very loved and tries to show affection when he is being petted. Maybe I am just used to FAT cats since I have quite a few of them
 
It looks to me like the higher doses were too much and the lower doses aren't enough.. I would stick with .75u and see what happens, if that doesn't work go to 1 unit.
 
Yes, one vet said that he might have a tumor in his pancreas. That is when I took him for an ultrasound and she said he had a large mass on his pancreas. And at the time we were so upset and thought he was immediately dying that we didn't have a biopsy. The ultrasound itself and the trip to the specialist cost us $1,500. I have spent thousands of dollars in the past year taking him to the doctor. He has been better since I have been taking all of your advice.
 
i was gonna say, maybe he's been too big in the past and where he's at now is more of an ideal type weight? have you seen that picture guide thingymabob about cat's and being overweight, ideal, underweight? let me see if i can find it.

fwiw, i think alot more cats are overweight than people realize. i look at people's pictures sometimes and it's like "OMG that is diabetes waiting to happen!" :-)

brb.......ok, found one, scroll down this page and look at the chart of cat sizes
http://www.dfs-pet-blog.com/2009/12/feeding-cats/
 
So it could be the tumor that is keeping his weight down. If that is the case, and understandably, you don't want to explore that further, you can just deal with what you have. He is getting decent numbers, and if he is purring, peeing, playing, that is his quality of life.

I would just feed him what he will eat. One thing you could do is keep the low carb but pick a higher calorie food?
 
Awwww, what a lot he has been through! cat_pet_icon That is great that he loves the attention and you can spend quality time with him. That is what is the most important!!!! They do tend to lose weight with diabetes, but it should improve as they get regulated. If you already know he has a mass though, I would probably not worry about it too much as long as he seems happy. I would guess the weight loss could be from that. Just my perspective. :)
 
one thing that bothers me about the tumor idea is that cancer typically eats glucose, thus resulting in lower bg numbers soooooo, while i agree that cancer can cause weight loss, i would expect to see that in the BG levels a bit more. unless, pain from cancer was raising the BG levels at the same time. just thinking out loud i guess
 
I despise the C word. Have lost 2, possibly 3 cats, to it now. one was VAS and one was lymphoma. the third one went downhill so fast we didn't get to testing to know for sure but vet felt if we went further with testing we would have found cancer around his heart. and my father too. gotta be the worst disease out there. 2 of the 3 cats were sisters so several several months ago when one of their brothers developed a lump on his hip we had it removed quickly, thankfully it was just a cyst but then months later when his right side lumped up and x-rays revealed a large mass i assumed the worst. thankfully it too turned out to be a cyst. unfortunately this one is internal, around his kidney, so we're kinda in that "see what happens" mode with him. we've been draining it but the drains are becoming more frequent so we might have to look further into what our options are. he's 16 so not sure we've got many options.

to be honest, back when Mousie was initially having out of the norm symptoms, i was told it could be cancer, diabetes, this, that, and those. i was beyond relieved when the vet called and said she had diabetes.
 
Depends on the size of the cat and the activity level etc. Our 10 pound cat who is not very active eats 2.5 cans of Fancy Feast daily. He maintains his weight - not too fat, not too skinny - but, not diabetic either.
 
that i can't help you with. sorry about that. i don't feed fancy feast but rather mostly Friskies or raw. i don't measure things real close so much as observe normalities and differences. if that makes any sense. with the number of cats i'm feeding that seems easier than all the measuring and stuff. i can tell you that i use about 21 5.5 ounce cans of Friskies every day, about 1/2 a bag of treats every day, and a couple pounds or so of raw stuff a week, depending on how crazy my work day goes. LOL!! not sure if that helps though. my quick math puts that at about 7-9 ounces of food per day per cat.

i think dr. lisa has some info on how much to feed your cat on her website at http://www.catinfo.org
 
You sound like me. How many cats do you have? I have 7 indoor cats and I feed feral cats outside. I think there is about 9 or 10 outside. I am known as the Cat Lady. I just can't let an animal be hungry
 
17 at the moment actually. and there's one stray that comes regularly, another that comes occasionally. oh, and the latest is a raccoon. ay yai yai! don't want to feed that guy but at the same time i feel so bad for not feeding him. you can tell he's a young one. but i can't have him hanging around hurting the kitties so i just have to hope he's getting food elsewhere.
 
We had a raccoon that came at one time. But I think some of the neighbors sat a trap and had him caught. I just put food out for whoever and whatever comes. I just don't want anything hurting the baby cats either. You sound like a wonderful and caring person
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top