Why are we climbing?

RobinHarley

Member Since 2018
AMPS 357 +6 358 +9 394

I'm afraid our PMPS is going to be in the 400s again.

I thought the past two days it was because, Day 1: we missed lunch time as I was out of town still. Renal kitties food I accidentally left down and he got into it, ate it, it was kibble. Day 2: I figured he got into the little dogs food we leave out all day.

Today we put the little dogs food up. He's climbing again. Don't get me wrong, we aren't near nice numbers yet... but for where we were hovering... we weren't hitting the 400s.

Though... he has transitioned to full soft food in the same time frame (about 4 days now, going on 5). It is a mixture of friskies pate and purina d/m canned (until it is gone). Up until this he was eating Purina d/m kibble and purina d/m canned.

Ideas? or just a "just because" situation...


P.S we sent our log in, vet is emailing back Monday with an increase
 
I thought the past two days it was because, Day 1: we missed lunch time as I was out of town still. Renal kitties food I accidentally left down and he got into it, ate it, it was kibble. Day 2: I figured he got into the little dogs food we leave out all day.
Ideas? or just a "just because" situation...
It could be for any or all of those reasons. Stuff happens.
P.S we sent our log in, vet is emailing back Monday with an increase
It looks like Harley could use an increase to 1.5 units bid.
 
1.5 - 2 units is what I recommended to my vet. So I think that is what he'll have us do.
For your consideration...
Increasing the dose by a whole unit can be too much for cats on lower doses. Generally speaking, you want to increase by only a half unit at a time given what you're seeing now. You're better off with a half unit increase than increasing by a whole unit even if it means another dose increase sooner than later.
 
For your consideration...
Increasing the dose by a whole unit can be too much for cats on lower doses. Generally speaking, you want to increase by only a half unit at a time given what you're seeing now. You're better off with a half unit increase than increasing by a whole unit even if it means another dose increase sooner than later.

Thank you. That is good to know. I will make note of that.
 
Back
Top