when to spot check today? and, how high is OK?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MicheleS

Member Since 2010
Hi everyone,

Soccer's BG values are dropping enough that some days he doesn't get insulin. This AMPS was 122 so I punted. I was planning on spot checking him once today (he ears are sore and he is losing patience) at +6 (*if* he got insulin... near his NADIR) but since he didn't get ProZinc this am... maybe +6 isn't the best use of my 1 test? When would you test? I just fed him... he'll eat again at +5. I guess since he didn't get insulin, I'll want to spot when I think his BG would be HIGHEST not lowest... Help?!

Also, I haven't been shooting at 150 and giving between 0.2 and 0.6 units depending on the BG. Should I reduce my "no-shoot" to 130 or so? I can dose at 0.2 increments. Is is OK for him to be consistently above 100... hovering around 130-150 without insulin? Help?!

Thanks!
Michele
 
I'd test again in an hour or two. You want to know how fast he is rising. Lots of PZI cats zoom up pretty quickly when they have been getting good overlap. If he's going up, you can shoot late--that's the benefit of using PZI.
 
If you can only check him once, then I might think testing before the next meal (+5) would be my choice. Since you don't have spotchecks for the last week or so then it is hard to say what hour nadir occurs, but with those preshot numbers, it might not matter if you know the exact peak. I would be probably want to know when the insulin starts wearing off more than when it is the highest (which should be the next preshot).

I don't know that I would encourage you to lower your no-shoot number. If Soccer is hard to test you will not be able to monitor closely, and I would hate to see you shoot at a lower number, leave the house, and spend the day wondering if he is okay. He is giving you very nice numbers, but unless you are able to get a curve over the course of a cycle or two, it is hard to say that you should lower the no-shoot number. Have you tested his urine with the ketodiastix lately? Is he spilling sugar? I know the renal threshold can vary a bit with each cat, but I wouldn't shoot insulin with the higher range of normal BG numbers.


Best,
Pam & Layla
 
Terri and Lucy said:
Yes, you should, but if you can't, you can't. He's doing great.

It isn't that I *can't*... He's just getting really POed. He won't sit on my lap anymore and as soon as I pick him up, he starts growling (this is more like his former pre-diabetic self tho'). He is still sleeping with the kids and will go to them for attn.

I was just hoping to give him a day (today) with minimal pokes and lots of attn.
 
I say if Soccer wants a day off, give Soccer a day off. And, yep, lots of positive attention. Good boy Soccer!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top