? When to expect improvement?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Becky Young

Member Since 2017
Hey all,

Davis has been on 1 unit of Lantus 2x daily for the last month or so. I'm curious when I should start to see an improvement in clinical symptoms...he has lost sooo much weight, I really want to see him gain some weight. He's also still drinking and peeing just as much as before. His neuropathy is no better (maybe worse?), he's on Zobaline. It's disheartening to put him through all this and not see any improvement. I feel like his quality of life is pretty poor and I'm worried that it's never going to get better. Do most cats take several months to feel better?

I've not been able to do too many true curves because I work during the day, but I have caught a few nadirs which are in the 144-170 range...is that good?

Thanks for your input!
 
If you can't test during the daytime due to work, it's really important to test on the PM cycle....most cats go lower at night and if Davis is one of them, he could be dropping low at night and bouncing high again by morning.

You don't have to stay up all night or anything.....just getting a +2 and a "before bed" test will help fill in the picture (if you can do both a +2 and a "before bed")

On weekends/days off, get a regular curve

It's also important to know that Lantus craves consistency so you will want to find a dose that's safe to give both AM and PM

Come on over to the Lantus forum and let us help you to help Davis!!
 
Hey all,

Davis has been on 1 unit of Lantus 2x daily for the last month or so. I'm curious when I should start to see an improvement in clinical symptoms...he has lost sooo much weight, I really want to see him gain some weight. He's also still drinking and peeing just as much as before. His neuropathy is no better (maybe worse?), he's on Zobaline. It's disheartening to put him through all this and not see any improvement. I feel like his quality of life is pretty poor and I'm worried that it's never going to get better. Do most cats take several months to feel better?

I've not been able to do too many true curves because I work during the day, but I have caught a few nadirs which are in the 144-170 range...is that good?

Thanks for your input!

My thoughts.. looks like you should consider a increase in dosage to 1 1/4 units... the spreadsheet is showing a lot of pre-shots in the high 200's... and the nadirs (that you mentioned) in the 144-170 range are a bit high... if you were doing a curve... a nadir greater than 150 would indicate the need for a dose increase of 1/4 unit... this agrees with the Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) protocol (link- http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/ ).

Also... with the weight issue... are you letting him eat as much as he wants (and leaving food out)? This seems to work best for my Derek... each cat is different of course :).
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top