When to be concerned about hypoglycemia

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shell

Member Since 2022
Hello! As I continue to use my spreadsheet, I want to get familiar with other cats numbers also. So that I can compare and maybe get a better idea of what I am aiming for. I keep doing curves every 2 weeks and the doctor and I are trying to determine a proper dosage.

One thing I notice on many different spreadsheets is that some numbers even happen in the BG >50 range and apparently nothing seems to go wrong? Am I correct to assume this?

I am asking because if I saw his glucose fall below 50, I'd probably have a massive panic attack.
 
Previous post for continuity, maybe go back and read what some members have suggested
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/should-i-reduce-dose.282467/#post-3113536

Shell what are you feeding ,I see your SS says science Diet?
Science Diet what?

What dosing method are you following ?. You need to pick one and add it to your signature and SS up top
Is it possible for you to test Pumpkin before you leave for work around +2 and when you get home from work?

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Also can you add the meter you are using to your signature
Tap on your name above ,then tap in signature and add it, you don't have any tests after your AMPS and PMPS tests so you don't know how the insulin is working and how low Pumpkin is dropping.

Going by curves doesn't tell us much
Pumpkin has been on 1.75 units for quite some time, but I don't think any member would be able to tell you what dose to be giving because you have no test after the AMPS or PMPs since
10-13
I saw you said in your previous post which I linked above
I could try to get more in the daytime to check. He also is a picky eater. Or... I never see him eat much because he eats when no one is looking. Like I was saying before, getting up in the middle of the night is not feasible though. I'd have to set the alarm and then would not be able to fall back asleep. I work in the morning, so I must rest.
Overnight, I am sleeping. I work in the daytime and can't check over night without not being able to go back to bed. Then I won't be able to work.
@Shell
 
Last edited:
Hello! As I continue to use my spreadsheet, I want to get familiar with other cats numbers also. So that I can compare and maybe get a better idea of what I am aiming for. I keep doing curves every 2 weeks and the doctor and I are trying to determine a proper dosage.

One thing I notice on many different spreadsheets is that some numbers even happen in the BG >50 range and apparently nothing seems to go wrong? Am I correct to assume this?

I am asking because if I saw his glucose fall below 50, I'd probably have a massive panic attack.
Tagging Bron and Bhooma to first take a look at your SS
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Bandit's Mom
Thanks ladies

Can you read my post to her also :cat:


Shell all your can tell you is
The normal range for cats is 50 to 120 using a human meter.
I've seen some members have said it's 50 to 100
 
Last edited:
One thing I notice on many different spreadsheets is that some numbers even happen in the BG >50 range and apparently nothing seems to go wrong? Am I correct to assume this?


On a human meter, 50 is your “take action” number meaning it's time to intervene with food to bring the BG up

The spreadsheets you are looking at when you see the members cats have dropped to 50 ,they are most likely feeding their cats food right away to bring their BG up when using a human meter
 
Last edited:
As Diane said, without any tests done during the cycles, we have no idea what the dose is doing for Pumpkin. It could be dropping low and then coming back up for the Preshot or it could be not dropping much at all.
Glargine dosing is based on the nadir or the lowest point in the cycles, not the Preshots so you can see how important it is to get some tests in during the cycles.
What about your days off ? Can you get tests then? It before you go to bed? Or before you walk out the door to work? Or when you come home from work?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top