When not to give insulin ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Renee’

Member Since 2019
My cat Peanut has a low blood glucose of 101 at 9:28 pm . I am due to give him insulin ( 1 1/2 units of Lantus). His numbers are usually in the mid 200- to low 300. He isn’t eating a lot like he normally does. Do I give him his insulin shot or not tonight? I am going to retest him again. He is 112. He seems hungry and wants to eat but won’t eat more than a few bites.
 
Personally, I would skip with numbers that low. My cat doesn't eat much when constipated, and my doc has always said if she won't eat, then don't give insulin. I hope all is well!
 
I do not know how long Peanut has been on Lantus. With no spreadsheet or history to go by, and not eating a lot, I strongly suggest that you do not give insulin this evening.
If Peanut's numbers become dangerously low, you cannot guarantee tonight that Peanut is willing to eat to in a low number situation.
 
I would definitely skip the insulin tonight with a preshot of 112 and not eating well.
We have no SS or history to go by and it is far safer for you to skip in these circumstances.
It sounds as if Peanut could ne nauseated.and as said above he may not eat for you if he drops low
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top