What's everyone eating?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dirtybirdsoaps

Member Since 2014
It's almost time for me to place another order for cat food. My cats have went through a crazy amount of food since Hidey's extractions. I just tried introducing Young Again zero carb dry food to them again, and Hidey's numbers started to jump so as much as he wants it I don't think I will be giving that anymore....figures I bought the 25 lb bag and still have AT LEAST 15 lbs left UGH!

Because of the vet suggesting Hidey is starting to have kidney issues, although I really don't see it in his labs (Labs are attached to his SS, as well as past labs) I have decided it is best to cut his protein back a bit, and stick to the lower phosphorus and LOW carb foods which seem pretty hard to find. I'd feed ff but its high phos, the friskies special seems to be a bit higher in carbs (roughly 4%-7%). I know its still below 10% but he does best with 0%-3%, every so often I slip 3%-5% in his diet. They seem to enjoy the ziwipeak and the tiki, but the ziwipeak is price,y and the tiki is very high in protein. Right now I am feeding about 6 (6 oz cans a day-split between 3 cats) to stay around 200-250 cal. a day, and also Hidey's diabetes is being controlled by diet and seems to need to eat about every 4 hours.

So what's everyone eating? Any suggestions?
 
Hello. Merlin has some indication of CKD too. His vet said that it is a delicate balance in trying to provide good diet for diabetes and kidney disease. He told me that I should try to get the low carbs and low phos (under 2%). So this thread was given to me and it has helped a lot. When you open it there is a list of foods that I downloaded into my own spreadsheet. It is in the middle of the thread from KPassa. Then I chose the "non-seafood" tab and then sorted it by brand, carbs, phos, then protein. It is my shopping list that I take with me all the time. I am rotating between about 4-5 foods. Hopefully this links works.

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=115473&p=1215071&hilit=Kidney+high+protein#p1215071
 
Thank you, That's kinda funny.....I started that thread for my parents and completely forgot about it lol. This is what I have planned so far with what I already feed and adding merrick in.

CAN SIZE BRAND FLAVOR PROTEIN FAT CARB % PHOSPHORUS CALORIES

DAY 1 TIME

7:00 A.M. 6 OZ ZiwiPeak Venison & Fish 43 59 0 260 66
11:00 A.M. 3 OZ Avoderm Tuna & Chicken w/ veg. 59 40 1.97 241 27
3:00 P.M. 6 OZ Weruva Splash Dance 50 46 4.4 292 52
7:00 P.M. 3 OZ Weruva Marbella Paella 62 37 0.99 253 19
11:00 P.M. 6 OZ Merrick BG 96% Beef 41 58 1 163 51
3:00 A.M. 3 OZ Weruva Goldie Lox 66 30 3.97 252 18

233
DAY 2 TIME

7:00 A.M. 6 OZ ZiwiPeak Rabbit & Lamb 36 62 1.01 280 69
11:00 A.M. 3 OZ Tiki Hookena Luau 70 29 0.99 337 28
3:00 P.M. 6 OZ Weruva Fowl Ball 41 55 3.98 180 54
7:00 P.M. 3 OZ Weruva Goldie Lox 66 30 3.97 252 18
11:00 P.M. 6 OZ Merrick BG 96% Turkey 31 67 1.99 178 57
3:00 A.M. 3 OZ Weruva Chicken Frick A Zee 51 47 1.99 174 26

252


Even with this though I'm looking at roughly $450 every 48 days :shock: I can cut it back a bit by taking the ziwipeak out but not sure on what to sub with. I keep looking at the list over and over again and I'm just stumped lol Im also trying to be cautious of fat content because looking at his labs his cholesterol is a it high
 
I have early CRF cats who both love raw so I have to add a phosphorus blocker to that to keep them eating which is important for these cats. I don't follow any protocol that restricts protein - nor does my holistic vet. Phosphorus is another matter.

I supplement their diets with Wellness Core, Grain Free, Turkey and Chicken with Liver canned food. It's 8% carbs and low phosphorus and ALL of my cats like it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top