What to give?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Unfortunately, you haven't shared your spreadsheet, so I can't see it.

Without seeing it, I would suggest
stall for 30 minutes and re-test
- if rising, you might consider 0.5 units if you'll be able to monitor for a bit
- if falling or stable, I'd skip (since I can't see the numbers)
 
Joe's spreadsheet is in my signature. She's stalling and will post again after the next test. Thanks!
 
Now that I can see the spreadsheet, the 500 numbers are a bounce - i.e., Joe dropped to a much lower than usual number which triggered compensatory hormones that released stored glucose (glycogen) which kicked up the glucose level.

As long as his nadir (low point) between shots remains above 50 mg/dL on the human meter, no intervention with honey is needed.

I'm cautious - if rising, I might shoot 0.5 units. Then, I'd go over to the Lantus Tight Regulation forum and read all about the protocol use there, vs start low go slow.
 
And maybe go back to the 1st post and remove the 911. The cat is not in life-threatening danger.
 
You need to go to your spreadsheet and change it so we can see it

Go to the top right where it says "Share" and click there. A new little box will come up and under "Who has access", change it to "Anyone with the link" and then click Done

Right now, it's saying we don't have permission to see it

Edited to add...There it is!! Thanks!! The one in your signature is OK...the link in your first post won't let us see it..that's kind of weird...lol
 
BJM said:
And maybe go back to the 1st post and remove the 911. The cat is not in life-threatening danger.
Sorry. Haven't figured out all the ins and outs of the board yet.
 
That's ok! We'd rather have you use it if you're not sure!

Most of us, once we have enough testing data to know how our cats react to both insulin and food, will shoot anything above 50, but since you're still new to the dance, it's too soon for that!

Has it been 2 hours since his normal shot time? Since he's climbing, you could probably shoot, but you'd need to be able to test tonight and change your shot schedule to keep it to every 12 hours.

You can adjust to work back to your regular schedule 15 minutes per cycle, or 30 minutes once per day
 
Thanks, Chris and China! He was 158 at PMPS + 2, so I gave him 0.5 units. My work schedule won't allow me to adjust his shot time back based on the 15 mins increments. I will have to back the decision of what to shoot in about 9.5 hours when I leave for work. If his liver dumps, it will be an easy decision, but I will be frustrated with the high numbers. Any advice on getting back on schedule quickly when you can't do it slowly?

Thanks!
Lowee

(See WV Mom's signature for the link to Joe's numbers)
 
Because of the carry over of Lantus, where shooting early is like a dose increase, if he is shootable tomorrow, and you can't be home to monitor, it may be possible to give another 0.5, then get back on track in the evening. Ask in the morning. And if 1 unit is taking him to a pre-shot under 150, maybe consider 0.75.

Do a lot of study of the Tight Regulation protocol to see if you can follow it. If you can commit to that, you may learn to shoot low to stay low. That has a decent success rate at getting recent diabetics to a diet-controlled state where he wouldn't need insulin.
 
In the future, if your schedule won't allow you to change your shot times, you're going to be better off skipping. Then you can get back on the schedule you want to be on at the next shot time....Also, if you skip, that's the best time to make changes, so if you were (for example) wanting to go to 6am instead of 8am, if you had to skip the PM shot for some reason, in the morning, you could go ahead and start the new schedule without having to "work your way back" to it.

As it is now, since you did shoot 2.5 hours late, you're talking about shooting again at +9.5 and we really don't recommend that since an early shot acts like a dose increase. Since 1 unit has gotten him down into the 60's just a few days ago, it might be best to just skip the shot in the morning, and then get back on schedule tomorrow night

If he's really high, you might be OK to shoot a small dose, but I probably wouldn't shoot more than .5 and then see where he's at tomorrow night. Better too high for a day than too low for a moment!

Hopefully some others will have a chance to chime in before morning and give their opinions too.
 
Joe was 389 this morning, so she gave him his usual 1.0. May have been a little much, but it's so hard to know with all this bouncing around! His vet wants her to give him 1.0 bid religiously, and quit checking his bg, which I think would be criminal.

BTW, she's a pharmacist, her sister's a doctor, and I'm diabetic, so we know a lot about human diabetes, but we're still trying to figure out what applies to critters with four legs and fur (and what doesn't). Lots of similarities, but some real, key differences too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top