what number should I shoot at?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dirtybirdsoaps

Active Member
Hidey's numbers have been getting lower and lower and hasn't had a shot since his PM shot on 3/17. I am trying to give him smaller meals today to try to keep his numbers steady, but what number should I be looking for to give him a shot and how much should I give. His numbers have started to level out since I switched him to the young gain zero carbs. Is it ok that he hasn't had a shot in the last few days?
 
Hidey's numbers look great IMO. Staying under 200 and plenty of green, I wouldn't shoot, but that's just how I would handle MY cat.

Hopefully, someone more familiar with Hidey will chime in.
 
As long as he is in the greens midcycle and his preshot numbers are under 180 or so, I'd leave him alone. This is the trickiest part of this sugar dance - worse for some than the first few weeks of uncertainty. You want to encourage those greens but you want him to be safe.

I think I'd consider a 180 as a no shoot number for now. And then only a tiny dose. If he starts running higher midcycle, then you might give a little more. Did you get the U100 needles?
 
Not yet, I don't know where to buy them without a prescription. My vet tells me I cant use 100's, then again she says no on human meters lol. Any info on where I can get them without a prescription?
 
Try calling your local Walmart Pharmacy and ask them if you need a prescription for insulin syringes. Each state is different. Some you do, some you don't and some you can get a certain number without a 'script. If your vet refuses to be cooperative, find a new vet, there are plenty out there that will work with you.

You may be able to get syringes through the mail. Click on the SHOP link up above and go to American Diabetes Wholesale ( under Walmart ) and see if you can order them that way. Even if it's a limited number.

There was another member here, in her state, she could only get 2 bags (20) at a time from Walmart. But that's 10 days worth and that would work.

Hope you can find a source for your syringes. I plan to move to FL, hope I don't have a problem getting Lucian what he needs.
 
Thank you Sue, I sent her a PM. Hidey still hasn't needed a shot though. I fell HORRIBLE though, last night I fed them and didn't notice the carb content in their dinner ( I took all the high carb foods and put them aside, I guess I missed some :sad: ) so his number went up a bit more last night. Luckily, I checked him this morning and his numbers were lower.

nckitties3 said:
Try calling your local Walmart Pharmacy and ask them if you need a prescription for insulin syringes. Each state is different. Some you do, some you don't and some you can get a certain number without a 'script. If your vet refuses to be cooperative, find a new vet, there are plenty out there that will work with you.

I will also ask walmart, but I researched online and found an article saying fl laws require a RX. I did ask walgreens about u40's and they told me they only had (I think she said) u50's, maybe didn't mention 100's because I was asking for 40's at the time. My walgreens is friendlier than my walmart. Walgreens told me should would sell me some and they could always call my vet for approval so theyd have it on file instead of bothering me about what its for and all that.

As to the vet, I hate it because she really has been great for my cats. All the people there have been helpful and friendly and do try to help but when it comes to diabetes.....I don't know how knowledgeable she is. First, they told me I couldn't use a human meter...they were dead set on that. They didn't want to put him on prozinc after they had him on vetsulin they wanted to put him on lantus. I researched prozinc, not lantus and from what I heard lantus is more $. After some disagreeing I got the prozinc, but they made me take him in for a curve to start it. She started him on 2 units which ended up being WAY to high, but she said to check his BG in a week or so. WHY! WHY! WHY! Do some vets say stuff like that? Would you tell a human ohhhhh, don't worry about it check your bg in a week or two? GRRRR. I'm hoping I can get her a little more open on the diabetes. I think its an ego thing, like hey! I went to school for this lol The way I see it is no matter how much you know there is always something else to learn or new ways to do them :-D
 
Oh yeah, some vets, like some Drs have that 'God complex'. It's my money and if we can't come to terms, then my money will go to another vet.

I was so angry with my vet after Lucian was dx'd, I didn't even speak to them for 11 months. I was looking for a new vet. I even contacted some of the FDMB members that are in my area to see who they were using. But I ended up in a situation where I needed a script and along with asking for it, I linked Lucian's SS in the email. Once she saw what I was doing and the work I had put into caring for my boy, she has been nothing but cooperative, no matter what I need. She wrote a scritp for Levemir and had never heard of it, didn't know it was used for cats, she got the PZI for Lucian on a free trial to see if it would work. When we needed more, she called the pharmacy and had them direct bill me, rather than send it to her, so I could get it whenever Lucian needed more, without the veterinary markup. What it boiled down to, was that she didn't have the knowledge of FD that we as care givers need. But she's honest enough to admit it, like with the Levemir and is basically using Lucian as a case study. She has contacted me for info on various things for her other patients, including Canadian Pharmacies that some of use use for Lantus, etc. It turned into a very good relationship and I would have never expected it. I took a chance and it paid off for us. Not everyone has been that lucky with their vet, actually few have.

When talking with Walgreens, you might find out if you can buy a limited amount without a script, that's how some states handle it. Like 2 bags a week. Guess the vet is a deadend for the syringes script, huh? That sux. I'm fortunate, that NC allows you to buy however many you need with no script, I buy boxes of 100 for under $13 and with my financial mess, I'm thankful for that.

Hope you can get it straightened out.

Hey, you might check in the Supply Closet board and see if anyone has some that they no longer need. Or put in a post that you need them. IDK if that would be alright as far as forum rules, but I've seen them there many times.
 
Are you close enough to a neighboring state that does not require an Rx for syringes?

And, show her the conversion table
U-100
tick
mark = U-40 dose
0.5 = 0.2 units U-40
1.0 = 0.4 units U-40
1.5 = 0.6 units U-40
2.0 = 0.8 units U-40
2.5 = 1.0 units U-40
3.0 = 1.2 units U-40

This works because U-100 means 100 units per mL and U-40 means 40 units per mL, so you multiply each tick mark's value by 0.4 to get the U-40 dose.
 
Thank you, especially for the conversion chart. I found some in the supply closet, although Hidey hasn't had a shot since 3/17 PM. Im watching his carb intake and numbers closely......I'm hoping we're on the right track.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top