Amy & Papaya (GA)
Member Since 2012
I don't seem to be able to keep Papaya on any dose of insulin for more than a few days with predicable results. I thought I was on the right track this week, as the numbers were good.
AMPS was 8.6 (that's 155 for you Americans), which is about the lowest I will shoot a normal dose.
+5 was 2.9 (52). She came to the kitchen wanting food, which is normal for that time of day, and ate normally, not frantically like she's done on a couple of occasions that were near-hypos. Since it was already well into the cycle I thought eating the normal low-carb would be enough.
+6.5 was 3.7 (67) which seemed good as it was going up a bit as expected. She wanted to eat again, so I gave her 1/4 can of Fancy Feast pate, the regular food.
BUT . . . the PMPS jumped up to 23.9 (430)! There's no way the last bit of food bumped it up this high, right? Is a bounce from her liver panicking over the lower levels?
I'm assuming I need to decrease the dose again because of the apparent bounce, even though technically the nadir wasn't low enough to earn a reduction? I've been trying to level out the cycle by feeding small meals - 1/2 can at shot, 1/2 can 2 hours later, leave 1/2 can out for later which she usually eats around +5, but there still seems to be so much up and down. Is there something I am missing here? Any suggestions are welcome.
And I've just created the profile and published her spreadsheet, so apologies if they are not set up right - tell me if there's a problem and I'll try to sort it out.
AMPS was 8.6 (that's 155 for you Americans), which is about the lowest I will shoot a normal dose.
+5 was 2.9 (52). She came to the kitchen wanting food, which is normal for that time of day, and ate normally, not frantically like she's done on a couple of occasions that were near-hypos. Since it was already well into the cycle I thought eating the normal low-carb would be enough.
+6.5 was 3.7 (67) which seemed good as it was going up a bit as expected. She wanted to eat again, so I gave her 1/4 can of Fancy Feast pate, the regular food.
BUT . . . the PMPS jumped up to 23.9 (430)! There's no way the last bit of food bumped it up this high, right? Is a bounce from her liver panicking over the lower levels?
I'm assuming I need to decrease the dose again because of the apparent bounce, even though technically the nadir wasn't low enough to earn a reduction? I've been trying to level out the cycle by feeding small meals - 1/2 can at shot, 1/2 can 2 hours later, leave 1/2 can out for later which she usually eats around +5, but there still seems to be so much up and down. Is there something I am missing here? Any suggestions are welcome.
And I've just created the profile and published her spreadsheet, so apologies if they are not set up right - tell me if there's a problem and I'll try to sort it out.