What is SLGS or TR?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rubyslens

Member Since 2021
I've checked the various forums and sticky posts but can't seem to find what these acronyms mean regarding dosing method. Thanks.
 
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.
 
Can you please fill out your signature, it's info we need to see about your kitty, it's at the end of everyone's post in gray, just so we don't have to keep asking you the same questions over and over again :cat: Here is the link to read about it. I see on your SS Jack was diagnosed 2021, going back to your first post I see it was Feb can you also put that in your signature


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/#post-2404162
 
Last edited:
With that AMPS of 97 this morning, I would continue to check him for awhile
Depending on what dosing method you choose that will tell you when you need to increase or decrease Jacks dose
@Rubyslens

You need to do more test both morning and night
 
Last edited:
To see a green amps and dose 1.0 without more information might not have been wise. That’s a normal bg. He could go to hypo territory so please test. I think a dude reduction is needed since you are dosing once a day. We need more information to help you.
 
To see a green amps and dose 1.0 without more information might not have been wise. That’s a normal bg. He could go to hypo territory so please test. I think a dude reduction is needed since you are dosing once a day. We need more information to help you.
I think he is giving 1 unit twice a day going by what he said here, I copied what he said in his first post below? I asked him to please fill out his signature also

Jack is only on one unit twice/day to start.
@tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top