What dose for what #'s?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meridith and Zeke

Member Since 2017
I have just started monitoring Zeke. I am really confused on what dosing for what #'s and when to not give a dose. Any and all help on this will be much appreciated!
 
I'm not a Novalin N user-- all I would suggest is some general advice to newbies, which is not to shoot if the pre-shot BG reading is less than 200 (or at least don't shoot unless you have some in-the-moment guidance from an experienced Novalin N user). With a fast-acting insulin like N and a fairly high dose (3U) I might even increase that cutoff to something like 250. I'm concerned, looking at your spreadsheet, about 5/25, when you shot 2.5 on 263 and got a +6 reading of 69. That suggests to me that the 2.5 was too high, but it looks like the vet advised you to increase since then. I'm worried this is going to take Zeke dangerously low-- he's currently running in the 100's midcycle, and you've given the dose at numbers in the 100's. I would be very very cautious about doing this with a fast-acting insulin like Novalin N-- you basically have no safety buffer at all, and it could take him dangerously low. Also, the high numbers you see after these lows probably aren't indicating a need for more insulin-- it's more likely that you are seeing a "bounce", basically the cat's body reacts to the low by dumping a ton of sugar into the blood.

I can't really advise specific dosing with Novalin N, but I will say that if Zeke were my cat, I would back off on the amount of insulin and go from there. It is fantastic that you are testing as much as you are!
 
Mod would have to delete it but no biggie to leave it up. Traffic is slower this weekend anyways so might get some more eyes when normal schedules resume. ;)
I've been reading your other post but since I have no experience with Novolin N, I do not feel comfortable giving specific dosing advice. Could just note observations kind of like Nan&Amber did. "X dose seemed to be too much for this reason" :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top