What does remission look like?

Status
Not open for further replies.

codyandkitty

Member Since 2024
Long time reader first time poster. My name is Cody and my big Orange diabetic is Chong. 11 year old tabby. Diagnosed in October 23. Started .5 units at 450-600 up to 2 units now down to 200-350 range on last curve after upping to 2 units 2 weeks ago. Spot checks today were 177 and 119. We’ve only ever tested below 220 once. Good yes but uncommonly low. Is this cause for concern or can remission present this random and rapidly? My vet did say when increasing from 1.5 to 2 units 3 weeks ago that she thought this would be the sweet spot and We’d hopefully see remission. Taking the night off work to monitor as I’m worried about a possible hypoglycemic event although he’s probably just entering remission no?
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
To get a strong remission you need to be able to see your kitty in numbers 50-120, preferably under 100.
It sounds as if you are hometesting, is that correct? if so would you like to set a spreadsheet so we can help guide you to remission?
If you are giving 1.5 or 2 units at the moment, you are not close to remission yet. We recommend you reduce the dose (when the BG drops under 90 or 50 depending what dosing method you are following u til you are only giving a drop of insulin. This way your kitty has a strong chance a good remission. If you stop too soon, your kitty may drop out of remission.
A drop from 177 to 119 does not indicate remission. I would also suggest increasing from 1.5 to 1.75 units instead of 2 units. We go up and down in 1/4 unit increments.
what insulin are you using?
what are you feeding your kitty?

Do you have some higher carb food and some honey and Karo in case of low numbers?

if you would like us to help you here is the link to the spreadsheet and other useful information. If you have any trouble setting up the spreadsheet let us know and we will help you.

HELP US HELP YOU
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
To get a strong remission you need to be able to see your kitty in numbers 50-120, preferably under 100.
It sounds as if you are hometesting, is that correct? if so would you like to set a spreadsheet so we can help guide you to remission?
If you are giving 1.5 or 2 units at the moment, you are not close to remission yet. We recommend you reduce the dose (when the BG drops under 90 or 50 depending what dosing method you are following u til you are only giving a drop of insulin. This way your kitty has a strong chance a good remission. If you stop too soon, your kitty may drop out of remission.
A drop from 177 to 119 does not indicate remission. I would also suggest increasing from 1.5 to 1.75 units instead of 2 units. We go up and down in 1/4 unit increments.
what insulin are you using?
what are you feeding your kitty?

Do you have some higher carb food and some honey and Karo in case of low numbers?

if you would like us to help you here is the link to the spreadsheet and other useful information. If you have any trouble setting up the spreadsheet let us know and we will help you.

HELP US HELP YOU
 
Thanks for all the info. I will have to start keeping a spread sheet. He’s using basaglar and eats wet purina pro urinary due to a history of crystals from 5-8. Was on wet hills urinary prescription to start a weight loss process but had to switch due to numbers not going down.
Im just worried as these numbers are way way out of the norm for him. I realize those would not be concerning to most but when he usually runs so much higher so I’m in a little panic.
 
Thanks for all the info. I will have to start keeping a spread sheet. He’s using basaglar and eats wet purina pro urinary due to a history of crystals from 5-8. Was on wet hills urinary prescription to start a weight loss process but had to switch due to numbers not going down.
Im just worried as these numbers are way way out of the norm for him. I realize those would not be concerning to most but when he usually runs so much higher so I’m in a little panic.
If you can get the spreadsheet set up we can have a good look and see how we can help you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top