? What does bouncing mean?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice and Hobo

Member Since 2023
My kitty Hobo was diagnosed last April, 2023. I have been viewing this site, but this is my first time posting. I have attempted and failed to figure out how to post the spreadsheet, so I never reached out with questions. I have a Libre on Hobo right now to do a glucose curve. Here was his result one day 322, +3 360, +5 82, +6 64, (when I saw it was this low, I fed him), +7 138, +8 244, +10 312, +12 330. The next day, he stayed around 320-360 all day. This is day 6 since he has been on the libre and the pattern emerging is that he will have a curve as I indicated above one day and the next stay in the 300's all day. My vet simply asks me to submit one curve and that's what she uses for the dose. Currently, Hobo is on 1.5 units, twice a day. We recently reached out to our vet because he was having a hypoglycemia event at 2 units, so she asked us to submit a curve using the Libre. He has been on the Libre for 9 days now, since we have lowered the dose to 1.5, twice a day. My concern is that our vet wants us to stay with the 1.5 units twice a day, yet the pattern of a curve as indicated above and then the next day of high 300's. Is this called bouncing and could this indicate the 1.5 units twice a day needs to be lowered? Hobo is fed fancy feast classic chicken in the morning and then a homemade raw food in the evening. I use the supplement, Alturnin combined with liver and boneless chicken thighs.
 
Hello Jarlo, welcome here. You are in the right place, this forum helped many of us take care of our diabetic kitties.

You have explanations in this sticky about how to create a spreadsheet:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
Is it what you tried? We can tag people to help you if it still does not work.

This other sticky explains how the forum works and what details to write in your signature so members kn ow at a glance about Hobo and can answer your questions.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/

To answer your question, bouncing is what happens when a diabetic cat's blood sugar goes very high after either getting low, or getting lower than the cat has been used to. That could happen more if your dose is too high.
It is difficult in your case to say that this is what is happening, because we don't have enough data.
The great thing is that you are testing at home. You can start by testing every day, before feeding and giving insulin in the morning and at night, and at least 2 hours after the shot. Ideally you want to add a few tests during each cycle (between shots) so you will have a better idea of how your cat is doing. Sorry, I am editing, I realize your were talking about a Libre meter and not handheld.
We prefer to adjust doses by .25 units at a time rather than .5 or even full units.
You mention a hypo event: what happened?

Do not hesitate to ask anything, about the forum or about your cat! :bighug: It is very hard at first but you are doing the right thing and are helping your cat very well.
 
Welcome to the FDMB. We ask new members to start by posting an intro on the main health forum. You can copy and paste this and start a condo there or a moderator will move this there for you. In the meantime, add a signature. I am tagging Bhooma to help you set up a spreadsheet. @Bandit's Mom

I’m sorry it took you so long to post as we can definitely help you. Have you read our dosing methods? Given what you are feeding you can follow either one as long as you can test before every cycle and at least get one other test each cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top