So I’ve changed my diabetic cat to Fancy Feast pate & also started feeding my other 4 kitties the same food. What is recommended to feed your non diabetic cats?
I fed my non diabetic the same food as Neko. That way if she stole his food, then no worries about carbs. Felines are prey animals, low carb food is what they are used to in the wild. How do your non diabetics like the new food?
I fed my non diabetic the same food as Neko. That way if she stole his food, then no worries about carbs. Felines are prey animals, low carb food is what they are used to in the wild. How do your non diabetics like the new food?
Thank you.
My other 2 inside cats really like it. My outside cat is very picky. I am working on him with different brands & types of canned food. He liked some shreds the other day.
I have one little girl that is highly allergic & is on Science diet ZD. Not sure what to change her over too yet. After 3 years she is finally not breaking out, she silky & healthy for the moment.
Do you know what the cat is allergic to? If it's food, a bland-ish diet is often helpful. There are much better quality foods out there than ZD and less expensive too. Try limited ingredients diets. There are lots of commercial brands. If it's a specific protein the cat is allergic to, try a novel protein like rabbit. It takes awhile to determine what in food a cat might be allergic to. My cat is allergic to random things you wouldn't even think of: goat milk, green lipped mussels, coconut oil, maunka honey, salmon flavored toothpaste
Both my cats eat a raw diet but different brands. Leroy eats a freeze dried raw because the frozen version had goad milk which he is allergic to (the goat milk has since been removed from the ingredients). Civvie won't eat freeze dried raw so she gets a frozen raw in a different brand. Leroy can eat the food if needed.
I feed all my cats Weruva BFF pates which are low carb and low phosphorus (to protect their kidneys.). Unfortunately, I have a lot of mouths to feed and it’s quite expensive. Hopefully, I am saving on future vet bills. If I could not afford to feed this, I would be feeding low carb food (under ten percent— it doesn’t have to be zero or 1-2 percent carbs) and lower end phosphorus if possible— just because cats don’t need carbs and their bodies aren’t good at processing a lot of carbs anyway. HC food just isn’t a species-appropriate diet for a cat (and neither is dry food.)
Well done swapping all your cats to a low carb diet. I feed my non diabetic cats a home made raw diet which is low carb. I could never feed a cat dry foods again.
Prior to Angus getting diagnosed all 4 of my cats were getting dry food ... I didn't know any better and it was easy to use in the auto feeders when we were away . The pet sitters came everyday to check , clean litter, fresh water and feed pumpkin and some canned food as well as spend some time with them, grooming & nails etc. After our last trip I was shocked to see how everyone was a little rounder especially Angus... So once I was back the auto feeders were put away and portion control . It was soon apparent that they all lost some volume but Angus was quickly the biggest loser... and I also noticed how much cat litter we were going through... Duh !! Then eventually clued into Angus drinking more, much more... makes me ill to think I was slowly killing him .
Now all 4 are eating way more canned food and are happy to do so! Fur coats are looking better , litter consumption is 50% less . There is still dry food in the house , and that is strictly controlled . The other 3 don't seem to look for it as much and when its time to do a BG check everyone shows up cuz Angus gets a little snack while I poke his ear. My guilt will far outlast the dry food we have left.
I had a line up too. Just for fun, try testing the other kitties BG. Always good to know a baseline.. Don't feel guilty about the dry food, there's been a lot of marketing out there on it. How were we to know?
I had a line up too. Just for fun, try testing the other kitties BG. Always good to know a baseline.. Don't feel guilty about the dry food, there's been a lot of marketing out there on it. How were we to know?
I would but damn those strips are $$$ ! when I was wondering about the human meters I was thinking I could use Fergus , Angus' actual brother to be my control as I was not sure how cat blood registers on a human meter.
The vast majority of us use human meters on our cats. The pet strips cost too much. Plus when I started, no one used pet meters, not even the vets. Our dosing methods were designed around what values the cat shows on human meters. Normal cat BG on a human meter is under 100. I've even tested one of my non diabetics in the 40's, though typical range is 50-80.
This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.