What causes the dehydration and will that get better?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen and Sam

Member Since 2010
so sam is 12 and diabetic most things are getting alot better but he is still getting dehydrated. Is that just because his BG is soooo high? it is 400-600+ consistently but vet does not want to raise his insulin too fast one unit ever one - two weeks. I am giving sub q fliuds I was doing it twice daily but vet recomended going to once to encourage him to drink more. I started using miralax and I have heard it doesnt help (from members and my vet) with this but he needs that too!!! He really was in big trouble with constipation and having it extracted manually etc....vet was really concerned by this.....so what do u do I don't really think miralax is the main culpret just bc he was dehydrated for several weeks before even starting that .... I get a little worried towards the end of the day when his fluids are due because there is a significant delay in skin elasticity but he at least is acting normal now! Just wondering if any of u have been able to stop sub Q all together at some point or is this a life long struggle. Also I need a cheap place online to purchase the lactated ringers as I just picked up two bags and spent 30.00 on them...any suggestions? He has constant access to water and before sub Q I was forcing water with a syringe (sub q alot more effective glad the vet decided to let me do it after reading others on here were I asked about it so thanks) thank you -Jen and sam
 
I'd suggest taking Sam to your vet and asking for a kidney panel to be run. Many older cats have lower kidney function, which can lead to varying degrees of dehydration. And, as you've discovered, any degree of dehydration can contribute to constipation.

The average mean age that cats are diagnosed with lower kidney function is 9 years old (half are diagnosed before age 9, half after). Besides sub-Q fluids, there are other things that you can do to help support the kidneys -- kidney-friendly foods (yes, there are foods that work for both diabetic and CRF kitties), possibly potassium supplements, etc.

Besides sub-Q fluids, there are other things you can do to encourage Sam to drink more water: Make sure you change the water at least once a day, and rinse the bowl each time. Also, at least once a week, thoroughly clean his bowl / fountain (if a fountain, disassemble it and clean all parts thoroughly, including the motor; also replace the filter). If you don't have one, get a pet fountain. Put a bowl of water at each end of every floor, so they don't have to go so far to get to the water (and also to remind them that it's there, 'cause some folks don't realise they're thirsty until they pass the water fountain). And try adding ice cubes to the water.

Also, if you're using Miralax, remember that that needs an increased water intake to work effectively.
 
I know that places like costco and sam's club do not require a membership to use their pharmacy. A case of LRS fluids there (like 12 bags) is somewhere in the neighborhood of $30. Where have you been getting your fluids from?
 
we do have watering bowls at both ends of house but I will try to scatter more about the house sounds like a reasonable idea thanks. We did test kidney function and had a x-ray and vet said seemed fine. I have been getting the fluids from the vets office but they charde 18.00 per bag we go through 1-2 per week so its kinda pricey on top of everything else meds, food, vet etc thanks all -Jen
 
Constant high blood sugar does cause dehydration. This is because above a certain concentration (somewhere around 250, it varies from cat to cat) the kidneys try to remove the excess sugar from the blood. This requires a lot of water, hence the constant drinking/peeing. I do not know if Sam has any other problems, but getting his BG below 200 for a good portion of the day should help with the dehydration.
 
Hi there,

I add water to all the bowls of wet food that I feed to my 6 diabetics and 2 cardiac issue cats. I make it soupy. They all eat every drop. This summer with the heat, I've been adding a little bit more water than usual.

Hope this helps...

Claudia
 
U are my hero!!!! 6 diabetic cats!!!! i mean I have seven cats but I can't imagine if they were are diabetics. They are lucky to have you and I know who to hit up for advice LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top