Jen and Sam
Member Since 2010
so sam is 12 and diabetic most things are getting alot better but he is still getting dehydrated. Is that just because his BG is soooo high? it is 400-600+ consistently but vet does not want to raise his insulin too fast one unit ever one - two weeks. I am giving sub q fliuds I was doing it twice daily but vet recomended going to once to encourage him to drink more. I started using miralax and I have heard it doesnt help (from members and my vet) with this but he needs that too!!! He really was in big trouble with constipation and having it extracted manually etc....vet was really concerned by this.....so what do u do I don't really think miralax is the main culpret just bc he was dehydrated for several weeks before even starting that .... I get a little worried towards the end of the day when his fluids are due because there is a significant delay in skin elasticity but he at least is acting normal now! Just wondering if any of u have been able to stop sub Q all together at some point or is this a life long struggle. Also I need a cheap place online to purchase the lactated ringers as I just picked up two bags and spent 30.00 on them...any suggestions? He has constant access to water and before sub Q I was forcing water with a syringe (sub q alot more effective glad the vet decided to let me do it after reading others on here were I asked about it so thanks) thank you -Jen and sam