What causes our FB cats to bounce so high sometimes?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Pumbaa hasn't had a red number in about two weeks, even though he's gone green many times since his last red. But he just hit 410.

So...how come sometimes they bounce, but not this high, and then other times they bounce really high like the 410 he just got?

In this case, I know it's not food-related since he gets very low carb food all the time (right now he's on a rotation of 4 flavors). And, from an activity level, he was very active this morning after breakfast, which caused me to think that maybe he wasn't going to bounce too high and that his numbers would actually go down after his AMPS reading.

Thanks in advance, if any has any explanation for this.

Suze
 
And you tested twice... (mom had a PMPS shot of 357 yesterday on Sneakers and I told her to retest and it came back mid 200's).

I don't know. Sometimes Sneakers will have those odd high numbers that i can't explain by food (or lack of it) as exercise is not an issue :lol: .

Hope you get to the bottom of it.
 
Heather, nope, I failed to test twice. :( Pumbaa has been a real stinker lately during testing.
 
Hi Suze.

I think the right answer to your question is "just 'cuz".

I'm a big fan of Dr. Lisa, and here's what she said in a PZI thread last year:
Serum glucose, at any single time point during the glucose curve, represents the sum effects in the *rate* and *amount* and *timing* of:

*Exogenous insulin absorption

*Endogenous insulin production

*Intracellular uptake of exogenous and endogenous insulin

*Insulin degradation and elimination - different for exogenous vs endogenous

*Intestinal glucose absorption

*Endogenous glucose production

*Tissue glucose uptake and utilization

and then throw in the amount of exogenous insulin....excess body fat....inflammation....subclinical infection....etc...etc....

Here's more of her wisdom:
I also do not see rebound as a failure or a mis-step.

Also, we need to consider the issue of warranted or unwarranted rebound. If warranted? ( a number truly too low or the drop too fast)..... Lower the dose. If unwarranted? (a cat over-reacting to a safe number) Stay the course and push through it. Don't just look at a high number and assume warranted rebound.

carlinsc wrote:
what if it was just one wonky meter reading. What if it wasn't a 455, but maybe a pink gone bad?


This is an example of why I loathe labeling a cat X based on ONE lab value. ie....I get hundreds of people writing to me every year in a panic because their cat has been Dx'd with CKD based on only ONE blood panel. Makes me crazy....

Look for repeatability before panicking or making any important decision.

Suze, if it's a "once in while" thing, then try not to go crazy trying to figure out the "why". Any of a dozen or more reasons. "Just 'cuz".

Carl
 
Carl, thank you for the "just 'cuz". *LOL*

I see other cats do this all the time, too, so I'm not worried about it, I just wondered if there was an easy explanation, other that what Dr. Lisa explains as all of the variables involved. (I think she missed the shape and position of the moon.) ;)

And this was definitely a bounce after last night's greens.

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top