What a doozy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hizzoze

Member Since 2017
So, I'm pretty sure none of the insulin went in last night. That was to be the first dose of only 2u. Checked Moxies BG this morning. It was at 238. I fed her, then gave her 2u. However, Idk why but it didn't go in. Her fur was wet. I swear I felt the needle go in. So, I gave her 1.5u right after. Since 2u isn't a lot and her fur was wet from the insulin, I'm sure she didn't get it. I know you are not supposed to give them another injection. And I wouldn't have if I didn't miss last night, too.
My daughter woke up this morning at 6 (hello it's summer vaca). She fed the cats, including Moxie, the grain free hard food. She knows not to give her hard food. Smh... Kids! Lol But she didn't give her a lot. Whewww!
Lastly, I have a call into the vet about what we are doing. (Home testing). I didn't make an appt. Just left a message for him to call me back. I'm nervous to talk to him. How weird is that? But I noticed the past 2 days Moxie has been sneezing like crazy. She seems OK. I just know being diabetic, she can get sick easier than non diabetics. I feel rushed since we are leaving in 5 days for Vaca. I always thought cats were easy. Moxie is our first kitty w a health issue. We have 5 total, right now. And 3 that passed over the years. Funny our biggest, fattest, youngest cat hardly ever eats. She nibbles here and there. And she is A OK! :p
 
A word of warning: Never ever give a second shot...even a reduced dose, no matter the circumstances. Missed shots are missed shots and you will get back on track with the next one. You never know if some insulin went in. I would strongly suggest you monitor Moxie very closely today up till about +7 or +8 to ensure she is safe. It's difficult to know if you felt a stray drop or most of the shot in her fur so she could potentially have more in her system than you think she does. The hard food will potentially balance things off but I'd still monitor her to be safe.
 
A word of warning: Never ever give a second shot...even a reduced dose, no matter the circumstances. Missed shots are missed shots and you will get back on track with the next one. You never know if some insulin went in. I would strongly suggest you monitor Moxie very closely today up till about +7 or +8 to ensure she is safe. It's difficult to know if you felt a stray drop or most of the shot in her fur so she could potentially have more in her system than you think she does. The hard food will potentially balance things off but I'd still monitor her to be safe.
Thank you. I am planning to monitor her. She was just on 5u a little over a week ago. I decided to get a monitor and do it at home since we started her on wet food. I took the dose down to 3 and was to start 2u last night. I know that is a no no, giving extra injections. I won't do it again. :nailbiting: I think in my mind, I figured BC she was on 5u. Abd I dropped her to 3u, 3.5u total, even if the first one went in, wouldn't hurt her. Thanks for the advice. Appreciate it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top