? We're back and I'm worried. His sugar is so high. What would you do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daddy Jack's Mommy (GA)

Member Since 2019
Hello All. It appears that Jack and I are back. He has been in remission for 2 sweet years. I periodically test him and his numbers have been good. I tested him 2.5 weeks before, and he was 123. He hasn't been himself for a few days - not cleaning himself and just seeming "off." On Weds, I made an appointment to see his vet. When I got off the phone, I tested his BG. It was 486 and I was stunned. I immediately called the vet back and was told that he wouldn't give him a script for prozinc until he sees him, and Sat was the closest appointment. When I hung up, I made an appointment with a new vet who was going to see Jack the following morning (because she realized the urgency). Late Weds night, he tested at 532 and he really didn't look like he felt well at all. I took him to a pet emergency center. They gave him subq fluids, 1.5 units of human insulin and a script for prozinc. I'm still waiting for the prozinc to arrive from chewy (it's supposed to be here tomorrow), and I'm so anxious for it to come. Last night, I bought some Novolin at Walmart, just in case I needed it. Last night, his BG hit "hi" at one point. I just couldn't figure out what to do. He acted otherwise normal - eating, drinking, purring, and bright eyed and happy to be tested again for the sake of his beloved freeze dried shrimp. I have been testing for ketones, and there's no problem there. He was also tested at the emergency center. I decided, last night, to do nothing and just keep an eye on him for any changes. Tonight, he's been "hi" since I came in 2 hours ago. He ate and nothing changed. Again, he's not lethargic and his appetite is good. He's purring as soon as I look at him. He greeted me at the door when I came home, and he went straight into the bathroom so I would test his BG. (He already knows the routine.) But he looks like he doesn't feel well and he looks horribly skinny. No ketones.

My question - Do you think I'm making the right choice by holding off on insulin until his prozinc comes tomorrow? Should I instead give him a small amount of the Novolin? (I've read all about the quick to act and quick to leave insulin here, on the message board.) What would you do if this were your sugar cat?

My SS is up to date.

Sorry to have to be back in this capacity, but utterly grateful for all of you.

~Carolyn
 
Hi Carolyn,
I’m sorry it looks like Jack has fallen out of remission. it is really good you are testing for ketones. That would be my main worry about no starting the insulin sooner.
I think as long as he is testing negative for ketones, is eating really well, drinking plenty and is not lethargic, it would be ok to wait until tomorrow to start the Prozinc, but as soon as you get it I would give him a dose.
I have no experience with Novolin and would be reluctant to suggest using it unless there were ketones showing.
 
Hi Carolyn,
I’m sorry it looks like Jack has fallen out of remission. it is really good you are testing for ketones. That would be my main worry about no starting the insulin sooner.
I think as long as he is testing negative for ketones, is eating really well, drinking plenty and is not lethargic, it would be ok to wait until tomorrow to start the Prozinc, but as soon as you get it I would give him a dose.
I have no experience with Novolin and would be reluctant to suggest using it unless there were ketones showing.
Thanks Bron. That's what I was hoping to hear. He's still doing good - bright eyed and hoping for some more freeze dried shrimp.
 
That’s good. I’d offer him plenty to eat as food is very important in stopping ketones appearing as well as insulin.
please let us know when you start the insulin and how he is going.
His insulin arrived! Whew! I was planning on dosing him right away, but his numbers are lower today. (He was actually in the red when I last tested.) He's doing good. He's eating like a chow hound and very alert and happy. I'm holding off on the first dose until later today - at the time that I will be generally shooting him. It may make it easier to get him right on 12 hour dosing, since he's doing so well. I've yet to check his ketones today, but I will as soon as I know it's him using the box.
I'm starting with 1U of prozinc.
The sugar dance is about to begin.

Edited to add: I just checked his ketones, and it's all good there.
 
Last edited:
Carolyn --

Did the emergency vet run bloodwork? The very rapid change in BG numbers could be due to some sort of infection. One issue that is the frequent culprit for throwing a kitty out of remission is the need for a dental I'd encourage you to get full labs and a fructosamine level so you have some idea if there's a medical explanation.
 
Hi Sienne. Yes, they did blood work. He also had a full blood profile in December 2020, and at that point his teeth showed only mild plaque. He had a cleaning and extraction -- of his canine tooth-- in October 2019. However, the vet ER found his teeth to be severely decaying. I have no idea how that happened since December. I have an appointment with a new vet on Wednesday, and I'm hoping that his teeth may be the cause of this sudden rise in BG and that once it's corrected, he can go back to not needing insulin. I'm hopeful.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top