Sheri & Spyder (GA)
Member Since 2009
PMPS = 353
gonna go do some reading and decide what to do.
he's just not budging enough
gonna go do some reading and decide what to do.
he's just not budging enough
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:I still think that continuing to raise him, at this point maybe by .5u amounts if you aren't already, until you get better numbers. was trying to hold the dose, but nope- definitely not working. 10/11 AMPS = 388. He also kept my son & I up throughout the nite. My son couldn't even go to school today because of it. Something has to happen, unfortunately quickly.
By all means read up on stuff and see if anything strikes you as an "ah-ha" piece of information. Since we have no history, and don't know how long he has been an untreated sugar kitty, I am thinking insulin resistance here.....so we needs to "break through that glass floor". My vet is leaning towards that possibility as well (although I don't agree w/him on some things, like they don't think curves matter)
hmjohnston said:Oh, dear, It is troubling when the cats keep you up. I hope Dante will settle down some and not be so aggressive.
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:How did he keep you guys up all night? was restless and wanted out of his "confined area"
Yeah, curves don't matter... well, if you do them at the vet, then they ARE useless. Did you suggest the insulin resistance to him, or did he bring it up first? Just wondering if he (vet) is being proactive or reactive here.I think he's being both. I told him a bit about TR, and he asked if I knew about S Rebound- I said yes, and that's when we got into a little disagreement about curves.
I sure hope you can turn things around for Dante. Do not overlook using prozac with him if his issues are behavioral. The one thing I wish I did differently, that I know would have made a difference, was start Jeddie on prozac sooner. I wasted 1at least 8 months thinking I could change things with stuff like Feliway and Rescue Remedy if I just kept trying. I do think those products work for some kitties, they just didn't work for Jeddie, but I resisted the medication because I felt it would turn him into a zombie cat who was spaced out all the time. It didn't. In fact, it released the true affectionate, laid back kitty that was locked inside the anxious, OCD one. He never needed more than the minimum dose (1/4 tab once a day), but trying to ween him off it did not work. I was prepared to keep giving it to him for the rest of his life.....
I now have 2 Feliway diffusers, and I do already have and use Rescue Remedy. Forgot to ask vet about "prozac"