Weird's Dosing Thread | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Weird's Dosing Thread

Great. Then let’s keep him at 1.2 for a few days and see how it goes. His ketones are down a bit. When I look back at his spreadsheet it seems like every time he was doing well on a dose we had to reduce because of SLGS protocol and then his numbers and ketones would creep up.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy

Would you hold this dose any longer? At first I thought he was bouncing because his PM cycle on the 23rd looked promising. He might still be, but I'm worried. He hasn't been feeling well the last few days though, his appetite is good, but he's been really grumpy. I gave 1.4F this morning to see if that would be enough to break through but he's still high and ketones are at .9. I want to increase to 1.6U tomorrow. My car is in the shop so I'll be home tomorrow and Wednesday.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy

Would you hold this dose any longer? At first I thought he was bouncing because his PM cycle on the 23rd looked promising. He might still be, but I'm worried. He hasn't been feeling well the last few days though, his appetite is good, but he's been really grumpy. I gave 1.4F this morning to see if that would be enough to break through but he's still high and ketones are at .9. I want to increase to 1.6U tomorrow. My car is in the shop so I'll be home tomorrow and Wednesday.
Let me check his spreadsheet now.
 
Sorry for the delay. I have been helping two different members manage low numbers. Things are better now.

I did look at Weird’s spreadsheet over the weekend and I wasn’t really happy with the numbers either, but I noticed he had already had an increase so it was just time to wait a bit. Since you are following Modified ProZinc Method, I would increase the dose starting tomorrow if you don’t see lower blues tonight.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy

Started 1.8U this morning and I’m anticipating a low PS this PM. I still am a deer in the headlights when this happens. If we’re around 200 do you think I should step back to 1.6U for tonight?

Am cat napping (Ha!) in case it’s a wonky night, so apologies in advance if, I don’t respond right away.
 
You decided not to go ahead with the increase? I saw the notes, but just give the fat dose 2 more cycles and then go ahead with the 1.8 dose unless you start to see a good amount of lower blues (120 or below) and green.
 
I was planning to increase to 1.8U tonight, but yesterday’s cycles looked a bit unusual and I wanted to double check before making the change. In the past, these flat cycles have often given way to better numbers, so I don’t want to rush him or risk pushing him into a perpetual bounce. That said, his vet is hell bent on a fructosamine in early October, and if it still shows high, she wants to explore other possibilities. But she believes he’s been on 2U since June and doesn’t know/agree with the more conservative dosing approach I’ve been following. So I'm desperate for good numbers, for his sake obviously, but also so the vet will write the RX and leave us be.
 
It still looks like he needs the increase. I saw your note about not being home. We can get him into better numbers by some time in October if we follow the MPM protocol as closely as possible. Who knows, maybe we will be at 2 units by then.

Can’t you tell her you test his BG at home (and don’t show her the spreadsheet). You could just write down some of his recent numbers or something— like a curve— and show her that. I don’t like these control freak vets. Maybe with some less responsible pet owners a vet may need to be a little more controlling, but with the more conscientious and intelligent clients, they should listen and be helpful. I am glad my vet isn’t like that. Of course, we’ve known each other for 17 years now, and she knows I carefully research everything. I did eventually show her my spreadsheet but that just reassured her that I was so carefully checking Darcy that he wasn’t going to hypo.
 
Thanks for looking! I will increase tonight.

She does know that I test at home. She doesn’t haaatee it, but not thrilled that I use a human meter. Though when we first started with her he still had Libre sensor installed from the emergency vet. Make it make sense.

I wouldn’t mind playing ball and having the fructosamine test done every couple months to satisfy her need for her own clinical data if I could just have an open dialogue with her. But ahhh we will see. She is still the best option in my area. I made plenty of calls and most vets just don’t seem to know better.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy

Howdy!

It’s been a minute! Just wanted your thoughts on his number. He’s had some beautiful cycles the past few days - I’ve been going back and forth between 1.8 and 1.8S as the numbers and my gut tell me. His pre-shot numbers have been trending down over all as well! Which brings me here tonight as his pre-shot was 136, I went with a reduction to 1.4M and looking at his history I *think* he’ll stay in the blue (he’s probably aiming to prove me wrong now that I’ve said it) but with the lower pre-shots do you think I should consider an over all reduction? I love the progress I’m seeing, but I think 1.8 would’ve been too much tonight for sure and I just hate the last minute dose changes when he throws me a wonderful low number.

Edit: he did prove me wrong! 98 at his +3!
 
Last edited:
but with the lower pre-shots do you think I should consider an over all reduction
Not at this time, although perhaps that will be in his future. I am happy to see the green on his spreadsheet as well as the lower preshots. Try to keep his nadirs between 50-120. He has been making it there recently 🙂 Naturally, we don’t want him going below 50 on your ReliOn meter, which would earn him an overall dose reduction.

The lower preshots, although unexpected, are a good opportunity to gather test data so you can hone in on the correct dose with those lower preshots. If his nadirs stay too high, you will know it wasn’t enough insulin — although snacks and overall eating play into that as well for each cycle.

I hope you are doing well, Frances! I was just thinking about how I had not heard from you for a while. I was peeking at his spreadsheet over the weekend.
 
Back
Top