I will look into this! Thanks.Good signs on the feeding front! Think about U100 syringes. They would allow 4.2 u by reading barrel marks directly and 4.1 u by eyeballing.
Thanks, Sue. I am trying not to stress about the #s. It's better when I'm stressing less. I will continue with the insulin protocol, and the meds and testing for ketones. That's all I can do, right? No sense fretting about everything? (Easier said than done, right?)Hurray for good eating! I would guess all the meds and the infection are keeeping him high. Hope when you can stop the meds and the infection clears, he is back in better numbers.
I have done this on the few occasions when Teasel has moved away from me just as I was going to inject. I'd check to make sure the insulin dose was still properly in the syringe, plunger out, etc. and then I'd repoke in another spot. I've never had a syringe plunger refuse to depress though.o you pull the needle out and poke again somewhere different, with same needle?
This sounds good, Michele. Finding the positives is the best way to deal with this !#@&*!! disease.A few positives from my "second morning":
So, all in all I felt better when leaving the house this morning than when I first woke up!
- Cliff's +4 before leaving the house was lower, so maybe not a complete furshot this AM?
- In terms of the syringe not depressing, I really feel like it is partly these syringes, and not where I injected Cliff. When I depress them to test before filling with insulin, they seem stiffer, if that makes sense? I guess that's why I thought I would just go ahead and force it this morning, but I don't know? I need to think about this a little more... if it was the syringe, or my poke of Cliff, or something else? I don't want to be hurting Cliff, that's the main thing. Or missing shots of insulin.
- He had a good poop in the box while I was getting ready, which is very exciting for us both!
- He was vocal this morning, which I took as something was wrong, and I thought for sure his BG was gonna be high when I tested it. But in retrospect, he was rolling around and just trying to get my attention, so maybe he was just feeling better and happy? I think maybe he was asking for his 2nd breakfast, since I fed them about an hour earlier today, and I usually drop some food before leaving for work.
- I also tested blood ketones before leaving (because I was worried about the vocalization and what it could mean) and he was lower than yesterday.
Thanks for your input. I will ask the vet about the whiskers, but from what I've read online, whiskers and coat are related to skin and both of these can be affected by disease, illness, etc.. Which, I already know he's got these things going on, and new meds, and possible stress--so, it's not surprising, just alarming that I keep finding them when he gets up from a spot.![]()
Will do! We are here now. Since the lab work and the ultrasound need to be sent out for analysis, I don't expect to hear much today.Let us know how things go today at Cliff's vet visit.
Actually, the vet did come down and talk to me after Cliff's ultrasound. I love love love our regular vet. She is the best. So communicative and responsive and always emailing me. Last night she emailed to remind us to fast Cliff and no insulin, just as a reminder.Let us know how things go today at Cliff's vet visit.
Don't worry about confessing booboos. It helps the others who come here kicking themselves for doing something they think is stupid and then they see that we all have our "moments".Cliff ate good for Dave in the afternoon.
Dave also took a BG test before feeding, because I was curious abt his +6
+6 was 367
However, when I went to use the meter just now for the PMPS, I noticed the code was off. It was 36 instead of 38. I did a double take, because 36 is on the bottle, but for dogs. Hm, not sure how long it's been at 36. I usually subconsciously confirm the code each time, and I did catch it just now. Sometimes I feel like my thread is a confessional. I suppose it couldn't have been like that for too long.
Anyways, I reset and double checked the meter was set to 38 for cats.
PMPS=370
Pilled
Fed-ok good. Cleaned plate. Gave extra.
Shot 4units. I'm really tired and it's late because we're off schedule from the delay due to vet appt this am. +5 would be 1:30A, might set an alarm.
Happy weekend!