Weather/schmether - Gandalf is swinging

Status
Not open for further replies.
And it sure ain't summer time.

Here's the deal. I looked back over the past few months of his SS. A LOT of 40s on there, and those are just ones I happened to test. I generally did 1.2U, but there were some higher doses on there too. I'm mainly looking at SS page 3.

So it shouldn't be surprising that he's done OK on 1U. But now he's horribly swinging even on the 1U. I know I had dropped the dose the other week but I couldn't stand to see 300s, so I went back to 1U. And am still getting 300s, mostly after good previous preshot BGs in the 100s. I can't seem to catch him low, not like I can tell work to go fly the coop, although I'd really like that. I came home early today so I would be able to get home - drove through drifts that could easily have put me in the ditch. Good thing I got those new tires a while back.

Anyway, I had to shovel out my driveway, but in between bundling up, going out, shoveling, coming back in to disrobe and rest, then bundle up again to go out, I noticed he was eating. He went to both his feeder and the bowls in the kitchen. Of course, cats eat more when they've been high too and he wasn't "parked" (sitting down and eating every last bite) but when I finally got around to testing at +10, he was 392 on my OTU mini.

Although I've only gotten that 53 the other week as evidence he gets green numbers on 1U, I will drop the dose to .9U or .85U tonight and give it a few days. The weather is wacky again so MAYBE that's a factor, but when I see those 40's from months ago (August up to when he had P-titis) and the fact he's swinging severely on 1U I think he may be getting too much now on even the 1U.

It's the only thing I got before I go the blood work route.
 
Aviva meter preshot reads 316 .9U

Not going in to the big meter discussion, but the OTU seems to read much higher, as this is 2 days in a row I've gotten the same range of numbers from each at the same times. Just goes to show - always use the same meter.

Sure wish the weather would cooperate. Am going trawling for strips in a bit. I just need some within a week. I have very good luck getting them quickly from Ebay sellers quickly, but my concern is how cold it is where they originate from. Right now it's cold all across the country! Except for California. I envy the Californians.
 
Have you tested yourself with both meters? Maybe if you knew the range of difference you could keep that in mind with the higher reading one.

I do think that he may need a tad less insulin - surprised? Do you have any data where you KNOW he was getting too much, reduced it and over time he got much better numbers? I am just wonder what the pattern is? Maybe he has a delayed reaction of higher numbers, but then settles back down again.
 
Yeah, glad you got those new tires - could you even imagine driving in all that snow on your old ones? Yikes!!

Out of curiosity, what was he eating when you were getting ready to go out? Raw or the Friskies?

Looking at his ss, i could see how maybe the dose is a tad too high and his bod is reacting to that. Could it be possible that you didn't hold the decreased dose long enough? And hey, i know what you mean about hating to see the 300's and reacting to them.

Sorry i wasn't much help. Stay warm over there - Michele
 
He's been in the mid 300s for 2 days now. This makes me think it's not enough insulin and I should go back to 1.2U. But I shot .9U tonight. Tomorrow AM I have to do split doses, so am thinking 2 - .5U's instead of .45U's. Too hard to measure .45U accurately. He should not be steady in the 300s, but I don't have enough data to know if he's getting out of the 300s now. I have actually been through this before and less insulin has never been the answer. It's why I occasionally have shot 1.5U.

Too many variables - pancreatic illness/"nodules," arthritis, cold weather, you name it. I probably shouldn't even be looking back at data from before the pancreatitis. Kind of seems irrelevant now, it was already 3 months ago so those 40s are almost 5 months ago.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top