We did it!! Our first home bg!

Status
Not open for further replies.

FurballLover

Member Since 2010
Thank you Cindie for sending us a meter!! :-D

Charlie was a champ! My hands were shaking like crazy but we got it! The first try produced blood, but I was clumsy getting it onto the strip, so we didn't fill. It took both ears and something like 3 strips and 10 pokes. Can you believe he purred throughout the whole process!!?? What a trooper! :lol:
He's always LOVED it when I scratch or clean his ears so the rice sock was a real treat for him.
I even accidentally poked thru his ear a couple times, not sure what setting the lancet should be at (I kept it at the middle setting) We are using the bayer microlet 2 that came with the monitor.

+2.5 80
Is that OK? He's a grazer, and eats small amounts thru the day/night. I'm curious to see what his amps will be.

We just finished playing a round of laser tag, so I know he feels good. Hoping the next time goes as well as the first!

Thanks to everyone for all the great support and info. We are looking forward to having a healthier and happier furbaby!
dancing_cat dancing_cat

Jen
 
Hi Jen-and CONGRATULATIONS :mrgreen: :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT


Such a relief too isn't it?

I've just waded through all your prebvious posts as wasn't sure what insulin you are using. Would be useful to just put that in the comments box on the first line of ss and then again if you sebsequently change.

I have two thoughts. I don't have direct experience of PZI in any form. I am concerned that you got an 80 at +2.5 though. Even vetsulin which I think is faster acting than PZI has a nadir (lowest number in the cycle, effectivcvely when insulin having greatest effect on bg) of around +4.
He may have dropped lower (though noted your 111)but also don't know when he had food in that cycle as that will also raise bg numbers, if only for a short time.

If I had a preference it would be to recommend Lantus or Levemir. These are both long acting human insulins that have shown fantastic results on this board. The Lantus group has had over 100 cats go into remission (become diet controlled) in the last year or so.
They are u100 insulins. Best to buy in 5 3ml cartridges rather than a 10ml vial because of how long the insulin lasts. Although seemingly a larger outlay, in the longer term it works out cheaper (did for us vetsulin/caninsulin to Levemir).


Are your u100 syringes with 1/2 unit markings? The ethos of the board is start low, go slow (I know what you said about kibble) and then usually icrease in .25u increments so as not to miss ideal dose. (Did note you have given a dose with .25u in it)

Last question-the meters.
The majority of cats get stressed at a vets (even if they don't alwasys show it). Bg can rise by as much as 200 points.
Also as someone elsde has said vet and your meter may be different. The general rule is about a 20% difference. The things is, you consistently use the same meter and make your dosing decisions based on it's numbers.
There have been meters that are not as reliable-your won't be one of them as I'm sure Cindy wouldn't send one out.Also, human meters are just as accurate for monitoring as the Alpha true track, but a darn sight cheaper in terms of strips!!!

As others have suggested, whislt using PZI, post in that isg and find out things like nadir, ideal nadir number etc.I know this group has been known to use a sliding scale, but that is as much as I know.

You are absolutely right that if you cut out the kibble, you'll reduce the insulin dose. Also give kitty's Pancreas a better chance at healing.
Good Luck :mrgreen:
 
I don't know anything about the insulin but I can relate to how you feel about yoru first BG test! I sometimes feel like such a jerk if I have to poke several times to get the blood but my Harley is like your Charlie. He usually purrs through it all.
I like to think they realize we are trying to help in our own bumbling way. :roll:
 
Congratulations!!

I too though am a little concerned about an 80 at +2.5. really the only insulins that would be somewhat "ok" on would be the real slow acting ones lantus & levemir. Definitely not good if you are still using that first oddball one the vet gave you. Are you still using it or did you get your hands on the straight up Prozinc? If you are using the Prozinc that is fine but either his dose needs to be decreased i bet or he may not need insulin, especially if you are still feeding kibble (i need to go thru and re-read a few threads to be up on your latest details :) )

if Prozinc does indeed act like it's predecessor PZI, then it keeps lowering the glucose levels for at least another 4 hours or so after that +2.5. and anything around 40 for a glucose level is concerning sooooooooooooo, kitty could get from 80 to 40 pretty darn quick, alot quicker than 4 hours, thus the concern about what is going on.

if you are still feeding kibble and you eliminate it, kitty's BG levels are gonna decrease some naturally just from that sooooooooooooooo i hate to say it but i reeeeeeeally think you should do some extra testing this weekend if you can?? make sure to test before giving any insulin whatsoever and if you get any pre-shot numbers under 200, do not give any insulin. this morning's number could be much higher than that though simply because he might have went too low last night, causing him to rebound.

make sense?
 
Good Morning All!!

Charlie's amps was 66
DID NOT give shot. Neither cat ate the two cans of FF last night (mabye 1/4) They did eat 1/2 c kibble d/m.
They just don't like the new label pink chicken--urrg!
Going to Petco tomorrow to stock up on lc treats and get alternative wet food.

Kate-thanks for the suggestion, I updated my signature. The story on the insulin is that when we started I wanted to put him on PZI. From research on the web I felt it would be a good fit, since its a longer acting one. Turns out after calling the pharmacy this week--its not pzi, they synthesize it with humulin n and label it Prozinc. Needless to say, I was unhappy especially since we had just received a new vial the week before. :evil:
Its u100 and I use u100 syringes with 1/2 u markings.

As far as the meter, Cindy sent a Bayer Contour, and I LOVE it. So easy to use!
Can you believe I got C with the first stick this am!!?? :-D
The vet said 30%, and I think she was talking about the meters vs taking a vein sample and using their med equip.

Cindy--Thank You Again!! I am so glad to be hometesting, especially after his low amps. I'm sure his numbers were like this before; but because we weren't testing I would have given his shot and not known. I'm starting to wonder if diet will make all the difference for him. I will get them off the kibble crack if it kills me!
I will try to do curves this weekend, they might not be exact bc have to go out of town to pick up yet another bridesmaid dress!! But at least it takes me by petco so we can check out other food options. Janet & Binky's chart will be riding along!

Thanks again!
 
Fantastic! and good job NOT giving insulin this morning. :)

will definitely be interesting to see what you get over the next couple days that's for sure.

just to clarify, you had to a pharmacy and get your insulin and that pharmacy compounded something and called it Prozinc? and that is what you still have but you are working on getting a vial of actual real 100% Prozinc? if so, be very very careful giving any of that first insulin since to be honest, no one really knows what it is. i'd almost be inclined to say don't use it at all actually but see what others say.
 
First,
I didn't read every line of this post, so I may be confused here, but 2 things alarmed me.

1) Are you saying a compounding pharmacy sold you something they compounded and called "ProZinc"?

Here is a picture of the real thing. It comes in a light green box and is MANUFACTURED, not compounded.
the Prozinc website is : www.prozinc.us

If in fact that is what happened, you should call their customer service to alert them. Something like that is not good for anybody..... Really kind of scary.

2) the authentic PROZINC is U -40 insulin, not U- 100.
Some experienced users, use u-100 needles with u 40 insulin, to get more fine tuned dosing, but you must carefully go by the conversion chart. Please make sure you know what you are giving.

Great job on home testing- it gives you so much re-assurence to know what's really happening inside their mysterious little bodies!
 
Way to go! welcome to the club!

Maui loves brushes and ear massages, so she was a trooper when I poked her. I also promised her earrings for all the piercing I did. Maybe you want to make your cat a cool cat and give him an earring too! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top