Washout.

Status
Not open for further replies.
It shows that there's a reply to this but I can't see any anywhere I do not know how to use this site I don't know how to use forums it's too hard for me I really need an answer to my question maybe someone could just email me the answer rhonnyisme@gmail.com
 
I'm curious why you are changing? And how you decided prozinc. My cat will be changing and the vet and I are discussing what to change to. My cat is on lanuts now, vet wants to move to prozinc. Vet chose that because it's what he knows.

I'll be interested in hearing how others answer your question. My vet didn't have any specifics for changing.

Good luck on your change.
My cat started on Prozac but I felt like people were pushing towards Lantus is better better insulin at cetera so I switch to that but my cat is not doing well on that I want to go back to the prozInc and it's closer to a cats own insulin. My cat was doing better on the prozinc for me Lantus is way too hard she's having a nadir sometimes at 13 hours it's just very difficult to use that insulin for me at least because I'm not the smartest cookie in the Cracker Box I just wish I could get an answer how long I have to leave her off the Lantus before I can start her back on the prozinc
 
Oh my gosh now I cannot find my way back to the reply this is a very hard site to use for me for people that aren't that smart I do not know how to use a dang forum why can't it just be a group or something
 
apple
Why are you changing from Lantus to another insulin? It seems like every place pushes Lantus and they say that's the best but I switch to Lantus on my cat is done worse than ever Lantus is human insulin if I could I would buy compounded insulin from a Veterinary Pharmacy because that is only like one molecule different than a cat its as close to a cat's natural insulin that you can get and I believe that that's what a cat would do the best on however I get my insulin paid for because I'm a disabled vet at poverty level and the organization that pays for my insulin will not pay for compounded insulin but I've done a lot of reading and I think that one is actually the best just my opinion it's closest to a cat's insulin than any of them but second to that is prozinc.. this is been a stressful and a hard journey let me tell you and I have learned a lot more than I thought I would for instance when I was told not to shoot under 200 that was doing my cat absolutely no good so now that I know how to use the prozinc correctly I believe my cat can get better. Wa the Lantus not working well for you? I have been alarm sometimes at the amount of insulin that some veterinarians have been telling people to start their cats on. These forums and groups are Lifesavers. I hope the best for you and your cats recovery.
 
When my cat get the injection, like clock work, he becomes painful between 30, to 45 to 60 minutes after the shot.

I don't like seeing him in pain.

As the insulin wears off, he usually becomes more animated. Depends on the day of course, some days are better than others.
Poor cat well I will tell you the prosaic is so much better and it's so much easier to use you can make adjustments right at the time you don't have to go three days on one amount you can adjust it like .25 it's high or low it's just so much easier to use the Lantus is not easy to use my cat was hitting nadir at 13 hours and is looking terrible.
 
I wish I had more information for you, my vet didn't give me instructions about how to change. I've wondered if you let the depot drain or not.

That said, I don't want him to get high numbers and become ill. The quick conversation I have with the vet seemed to be one day you just change. Of course it's a day with good-ish lantus numbers and such.

Yesterday his am cycle didn't have a nadir and then last night he hit nadir at +4.5 and his bg is rocketing up to the moon.

Right now he has 4 hours to go before his am injection and I'm concerned about how his bg will go before injection. He's 333 with 4 hrs to go.

Is you kitty a boy or girl?

Mine is a sweet little boy. We were up doing a night curve and inbetween tests he snuggles on my neck. I love it (his snuggles) and I love him.

Welcome to the board. It's nice to have you here.
 
Last edited:
Lantus has a depot which varies in size depending on the dose that a kitty has been getting. Because of that residual Lantus depot, I'd reduce the ProZinc dose when the switch is made. I don't know how long it takes for the Lantus depot to drain and how much you drop the ProZinc dose at first would depend on the size of the last Lantus doses being given.
 
Last edited:
I wanted to switch from lantus to levimer but the vet wants prozinc.
Have you considered switching vets or are you satisfied with your current vet in other areas besides insulin needs? It sounds like your vet is insisting on an insulin with a shorter duration like Prozinc. I would ask your vet what his hesitation is with using another insulin.
I personally liked the flexibility of dosing that the Prozinc offered when I was giving it to my cat.
 
Bumping your thread for others to see.

People on the eastern part of US and Canada should be getting up and on the board. Hopefully they have some wonderful insights.

It was nice having some night company around here.
Thank you so much for the conversation it helped me through a night of total stress until I conked out but I think I have the answer to my question now and my cat is a little girl I love her very much I also have two little dogs I love animals and spend a lot of time advocating on behalf of them especially an elephant named Nosey. You might want to do some Googling and perhaps you would want to sign some petitions on her behalf. I wish you the best with your boy. God Bless
 
Well no one's asked my question so I guess I'm not going to get any help here at least I tried
you were asking at 1 am my time. it's not a 24 hour help line, and while it's very active for a forum, people are just one when they are on.

You may skip a cycle just because lantus builds up in the system, but I don't think it's really necessary to have a significant time lapse between stopping one type of insulin and starting another.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top