Was a possible hypo now a count down to otj

Status
Not open for further replies.
Raja's bg on the new meter shows 28 and 45 on the old meter, using the 20% 'rule' that carl showed me in another thread and averaging the two I get 34

I just gave her some tuna she drank all the juice and ate a decent amount of the tuna itself, she's acting normal, walking normal AND when she went otj the first time her BG stayed in the 30 range for the most part....never got higher than 45

I will keep testing her but how low before I give her some high carb treats? Or need to give her some honey?
 
Re: Possible hypo

We are at +4 and I've got some whisker lickins treats, not sure what the carb count is but corn is the 3rd ingredient

Her lowest numbers arent at +6 they are between +3 and +5
 
Re: Possible hypo

We are on lantus

Like I said in my previous post her nadair is not at +6 it's 3-5 is when she hits her lowest numbers

Her SS is up to date
 
Re: Possible hypo

If Raja typically nadirs right about now, I would continue feeding wet food and test every 30 minutes. If she dips below 50 again, feed 1 tsp. of her regular food (assuming it is wet) with a couple drops of karo in it. Even though she typically has an earlier nadir, to be on the safe side, I would continue to test until at least +6 unless you get clear evidence that she is headed upwards.
 
Re: Possible hypo

Ok thanks

Yes she is on wet food Friskies, but we are in the process of changing foods so I've got some authority set out as well.

She did go up, so I am a little relived but I'll check her again in a few minutes to see where she is at. She's pretty much eaten the entire 5 oz can of tuna
 
Re: Possible hypo

Sorry to be so direct, just wanted to get info so I could get you a quick answer!! :-D :-D

One thing I would recommend is to get maybe 10 cans of food in various carb levels above 10%... some in the 10-15 range and some in the 20+ range. You can use Jan and Binky's food chart to help you choose.

The Whisker Lickin's aren't a good choice in these situations... Dry foods/treats take a bit longer for the system to process, so you don't get a fast reaction. The effects also then stay in the system longer than you want them to. The sugars in karo/honey or the gravy in HC wet food hits the system much faster. Most of us prefer to use the HC gravy, especially early in the cycle, because while honey and karo work very quickly, they wear off very quickly as well, so a kitty can be more prone to a second dip into dangerous numbers.

For future reference, anything below 50 is a number to start breaking out the carbs for... and anything under 40 should be gravy central. I have never given straight karo... I reserve that for situations where the cat is unresponsive and I have to rub it on the gums (which has never happened, thank goodness!). If I do use it, I mix it in with 1/2 tsp or so of food so I get the longer lasting effect.

You can go ahead and remove the 911 from your post. I think you're out of danger territory!
 
Re: Possible hypo

86 on the old meter and 57 on the new meter

No don't be sorry glad for the help actually.

I did have some higher carb wet food but when friskies changed their formula and neither cat was eating it I started giving it to the other kitty and I didn't realize I had run out.
 
Re: Possible hypo

I'm not feeling terrific tonight and am about to head to sleep. If the numbers start to dip and you don't see anyone in the Health forum, go ahead and post over in the Lantus forum. We've got several West Coast folks over there, so you're more likely to get someone to help over there!

Looks like you're likely in the upper 60s now... which is a good place for Raja to be surfing!! Hope that she doesn't keep you up too late tonight!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

She earned a dosecrease tonight, so decrease your dose by 0.25u in the a.m.! Congrats!!
 
Re: Possible hypo

Looks like you may have an OTJ trial in your future, then... I'd post over in Lantus and see what the experienced folks over there think. Raja may bounce by morning and give you the answer, but with numbers that low (even if her version of normal is lower than, well, normal!), I'd be hesitant to keep her at the same dose.

how are you measuring the 0.1u? I would draw up a syringe with what you're currently dosing and then expel drops from the syringe one at a time. See how many drops are in the 0.1u you are currently giving. If it is more than 1, I'd decrease the dose by one drop at a time.

Okay, seriously is sleep time! :lol: :lol: :lol: have a good night!!
 
Re: Possible hypo

I have been eyeballing the .01 but I will find out tomorrow how many drops it is and lower it

I was told though that I need to hold her dosage for at least 3 full cycles and in fact I was questioned when I didn't hold the .25 the other day.....so now where do I go from here? You're idea sounds more reasonable and safer to me than dosing her at .01 because she hasnt been there for at least 3 cycles.
 
Re: Possible hypo

Heather,
Why did you shoot any insulin into a 107? "Normal" range for cats is 50-120. 107 isn't a "diabetic number". "OTJ" is 2 weeks under 150, with most numbers being in the double digits. There's no need to keep shooting if she's going to be around 100.
There's no need to put yourself, or Raja, through the stress. She doesn't have to "live in the 50's" No cat does, not even non-diabetic ones.
I saw in your first post on this thread, that the last time she was OTJ, she "was mostly in the 30s, never went above 45". If that's true, then she was living in a hypoglycemic condition. There's no need for that. A BG between 50 and 120 is "normal". Above that, or Below that, is not.
Carl
 
Re: Possible hypo

fwiw, lantus shot on a 107 AFTER one is experienced enough isn't an unusual thing.

but yeah Heather, thinking an OTJ trial soon? :-)
 
Re: Possible hypo

Cindy,
I understand that. I shot 2u of PZI into a 109 and 1.5 into a 79. Bob never went lower than 44. But I was stupid and it was unnecessary. I had been "convinced" that my meter was "always going to read about 30 points low". FD isn't just about "numbers". If a cat is living around 100, I'd ask someome to really pay attention to how she's acting and looking. Sometimes I think we pay too much attn to trying to hit some ideal bulleye on a spreadsheet than we do to the patient.
carl
 
Re: Possible hypo

Tried OTJ today

87 this morning and now 127. The advice I got was if she was in the blue to feed her and check her BG in 3 hours to see what her BG is

So in 3 hours what would constitute giving her insulin?
 
Re: Possible hypo

going up instead of down is my understanding. if she goes down a while after eating, pancreas is working and it doesn't need help or as much of it. if she goes up, pancreas isn't strong enough to do it yet and needs some help (insulin)

have you heard of shooting a drop? if not, grab a syringe and practice this maybe? an old one would be fine since you're just experimenting and not sticking it in anything. draw up a unit or so of water. gently push it out until you see no more in the body of the syringe. now hold it with needle skyward. push on the plunger a bit harder. did a drop come out? and if so, is that less than the .1 you've been eyeballing? if so, maybe, if she needs insulin, try shooting just a drop?
 
Re: Possible hypo

Hi Heather, and, of course, you too, maybe not so sweet Raja,

Just reading about your interesting day!

If I'm understanding Raja's shooting schedule, you'd normally be shooting her about now, right? If she goes up significantly in the next three hours, would you be able to maintain that shooting schedule? Do you see where I'm going with this?

If you're really trying OTJ today, and the shooting schedule would be drastically altered, perhaps not shooting at all would be the way to go tonight. Does that make sense? Yes, she might be a little higher in the morning; but, you'd have the same schedule and could shoot her then.

Or, you'd find out if she's really contemplating going off the juice again...

It truly is a dance, isn't it?

Love and you'll do the right thing for Raja because you love her kind of hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, who taught me to have my toe shoes steel-tipped...
 
Re: Possible hypo

Ok thanks I tried the drop thing and it looks like I've been giving her 2 drops so now I know where the plunger needs to be to give her one drop

Deb, I hadn't thought about that and no if I shot her in 3 hours I wouldn't be able to maintain that scheduled. I shoot at 7am and 7pm so waiting until 10 means 10am tomorrow and I'm at work by then. I don't see her going up so high tonight so waiting for tomorrow seems like our best bet
 
Re: Possible hypo

Dear Heather -- sorry, Raja, mom talk,

Until God creates sugar cats who can test and shoot themselves, or bring home the bacon -- sometimes we have to put our schedules first. We just don't actually say that to the aforementioned sugar cats. Nope, we are their people. It is important that they know this... ;o)

Love and hugs for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Re: Possible hypo

You know I was just telling Raja and Meeko that they needed to find jobs and start contributing to this household. If they could just cover their food and litter and cat nip addiction then I'd be all set. They both looked at me like I was the crazy cat lady

I know I really shouldn't be but I really hope she's otj in about a month. My boyfriend and I have plans for the weekend and I really don't feel comfortable leaving her here and hiring someone to give her insulin so I'm hoping she gets better sooner rather than later because I will cancel if I have to.
 
Re: Possible hypo

Dear Heather, and, of course, you too, inspiring Raja,

Heather and Raja said:
Here's hoping tomorrow is just as good :-D
Loved that 94 this morning!

Go Raja! Go Heather!

Love and cheering, keep up the good work kind of hugs!
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Let us know, okay, Heather?

You know we're all rooting for Raja!

Love and impatient for results kind of hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Heather and Raja said:
I was actually a little scared to test her because I was afraid of a set back but Raja is doing great.
And so are you, dear Heather...

Fingers and paws crossed for you both!

Love and happy hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Fingers, Toes and Paws all crossed that we will be celebrating someone's OTJ party soon.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang (That's 20 fingers, 20 toes and 56 paws that are all crossed)
 
OMG! just read the great number for her! And you have put a great smile upon my face this am!!! Way to go Raja!! :dizcat
 
Yippee!!!!!!!!

Keep it going Raja!!!! Keep it going!!!!

Love and happy, hopeful hugs for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Dear Heather, and, of course, you too, special Raja,

Was on lancets and syringes holding my breath for tonight's reading, so I had to peek...

Go Raja!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:thumbup :thumbup :thumbup

Well, gosh, just color me smiling!!!

Love and keep it going kind of hugs for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Dusting off the party hat and letting my Sugar Bean know we might be going to an OTJ PARTY! :thumbup bcatrun_gif
 
Oh, be still my happy heart!!!

Keep it going little furry wonder girl!!!

We're all rooting for you and your dear mommy!!!

Love and cheering hugs for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Day 4 is complete!!!!

Keep up the good numbers, Raja!!!! We're all rooting for you and your mommy!!!!

Awesome, Heather!!!! Just awesome!!!!

:thumbup :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup

Love and continuing happy hugs for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top