Yes he was up at close to 5 am and ate- and I did his AMPS at 7:30 so about 2.5 hours...but he is an active night eater.....I am also about to give him his prednisolone so we shall see if this affects the +6 too?Did he eat within 2 hours of the Amps? If so it’s food influenced and it could have been even lower. That’s a big drop at onset so try and get him to eat a few teaspoons of food. This could be an active cycle so get a +3. When the +2 is a lot lower than the preshot it means there is likely to be an active cycle requiring a few extra tests. Looks like he’s improving.![]()
I agree. It sounds like he’s okay. If you did need it later, it won’t effect the bg in a negative way. If anything it would make him feel better and thus lower his bg.He's going at the salmon Dr Elsey's kibble right now- so I don't think I need to administer cerenia...thoughts?
@tiffmaxee feed LC and check in 30 minutes?Crap....we are at 3.6 now at +7......should I give honey?

Feed again and test in 30 minutes, is dry food the only food you are feeding Victor?Still dropping.. 3.4
I just got him to eat probably 15 temptation treats ….I know not great but I’m a bit panicky we’ve gone fromYes Dr elseys I offered that and some temptations treats he’s not interested it’s nap time in his world….
Can you add Dr Elsey's Dry to your signature. What is the Royal C Dental?Yes Dr elseys I offered that and some temptations treats he’s not interested it’s nap time in his world….
When I open his daughters wet food ' Kitten Instinctive loaf in sauce he will occassionally eat it when it's fresh and room temp.....usually once a day a few tbsps.Can you add Dr Elsey's Dry to your signature. What is the Royal C Dental?
I assume he won't eat any wet food?
No problem at all , when is the next testSorry all new to me! Updating signature- we just transitioned to DR Elsey's 2 days ago....
Okey DokeyHistory with this cat is he's a very very very small bleeder and I feel like I"ve pricked him to death today and annoyed him ALOT- so I'm going to hold off testing until +11- so another hour- he just ate those temptations- he seems fine no signs of hypo and is resting as per normail- alert and reactive when I say his name....so stay tuned in a couple hours unless something happens between now and then?
Poor Victor with the ear infection, can't they seem to get rid of itHe's also been urinating less and drinking less today. The packing in his ears is 2 weeks on Monday....usually have to redo it every 3-4 weeks....
It all happens every time we try to wean him off the prednisolone- ear infection flames up- ears have to be packed- we did a culture so it is yeast not antibiotic- and now we have diabetes on top of the ear infection. This has been going on since last August- his blood work is otherwise fine- obviously they think there is a underlining issue as to why the prednisolone keeps this all at bay- such as polyps or tumors- but he has balance issues because of the ear infections and I'm not putting a 14 yr old cat thorugh MRI's or catscans- for what? MY GP Vet keeps saying if it's cancer we'd have seen a mental change and physical change in 8 months besides the ongoing ear infections that flair up....so yes we're one of those 'basket' cases....Poor Victor with the ear infection, can't they seem to get rid of it