Victor 4/16 AMPS 17.3/311 +2 13.2/238 +6 6.2/112 +11 = 9.0/162 PMPS 11.9/214

Did he eat within 2 hours of the Amps? If so it’s food influenced and it could have been even lower. That’s a big drop at onset so try and get him to eat a few teaspoons of food. This could be an active cycle so get a +3. When the +2 is a lot lower than the preshot it means there is likely to be an active cycle requiring a few extra tests. Looks like he’s improving. :)
 
I didn't get the +3 but I just did the +4 and we are at 12.8 so nothing really huge- I have to run out for an hour- so I"ll be back to do the +6.....
 
Did he eat within 2 hours of the Amps? If so it’s food influenced and it could have been even lower. That’s a big drop at onset so try and get him to eat a few teaspoons of food. This could be an active cycle so get a +3. When the +2 is a lot lower than the preshot it means there is likely to be an active cycle requiring a few extra tests. Looks like he’s improving. :)
Yes he was up at close to 5 am and ate- and I did his AMPS at 7:30 so about 2.5 hours...but he is an active night eater.....I am also about to give him his prednisolone so we shall see if this affects the +6 too?
 
Just a little between +4-6 maybe 6 kibbles- and now he just threw up stomach bile - about 2 tsps.....
 
He's going at the salmon Dr Elsey's kibble right now- so I don't think I need to administer cerenia...thoughts?
 
He's going at the salmon Dr Elsey's kibble right now- so I don't think I need to administer cerenia...thoughts?
I agree. It sounds like he’s okay. If you did need it later, it won’t effect the bg in a negative way. If anything it would make him feel better and thus lower his bg.

Since he ate I would get one more test in an hour or two to make sure he’s on the way up and doesn’t surprise you at pmps. I think he’s probably past nadir. Nice progress today.
 
What do I do if he's still low at PAMPS? I guess technically we aren't really low- but we're 4x lower than I'm use to seeing so I'm a bit pancked so sorry!
 
Don’t panic. If he’s still on the way down at the next test or about the same get a +11. That way we will be better able to judge what’s he’s doing. If under 200, stall DON’T feed and post for help. Test again in 20-30 minutes.

This is when you need to pick up his food 2 hours before pmps so the pmps is not food influenced.
 
Ok I'll test in 15 minutes it will be +7 and see how that is- if it's same or a bit higher my anxiety will subside a little! Then I will do +9 and +11....
 
Yes. Feed and check in 30 minutes. Honey is not needed. That’s fur under 50. Congrats on the reduction since he was under 90. The new dose starting tonight is 2.0. Good thing we didn’t fast track him. :D
 
Yes Dr elseys I offered that and some temptations treats he’s not interested it’s nap time in his world….
 
Yes Dr elseys I offered that and some temptations treats he’s not interested it’s nap time in his world….
I just got him to eat probably 15 temptation treats ….I know not great but I’m a bit panicky we’ve gone from
One extreme to another!
 
Can you add Dr Elsey's Dry to your signature. What is the Royal C Dental?
I assume he won't eat any wet food?
When I open his daughters wet food ' Kitten Instinctive loaf in sauce he will occassionally eat it when it's fresh and room temp.....usually once a day a few tbsps.
 
History with this cat is he's a very very very small bleeder and I feel like I"ve pricked him to death today and annoyed him ALOT- so I'm going to hold off testing until +11- so another hour- he just ate those temptations- he seems fine no signs of hypo and is resting as per normail- alert and reactive when I say his name....so stay tuned in a couple hours unless something happens between now and then?
 
One thing
The dry food takes longer to raise blood glucose, if possible can you get some med and high carb wet food to keep in the house such as Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
 
History with this cat is he's a very very very small bleeder and I feel like I"ve pricked him to death today and annoyed him ALOT- so I'm going to hold off testing until +11- so another hour- he just ate those temptations- he seems fine no signs of hypo and is resting as per normail- alert and reactive when I say his name....so stay tuned in a couple hours unless something happens between now and then?
Okey Dokey
 
Poor Victor with the ear infection, can't they seem to get rid of it
It all happens every time we try to wean him off the prednisolone- ear infection flames up- ears have to be packed- we did a culture so it is yeast not antibiotic- and now we have diabetes on top of the ear infection. This has been going on since last August- his blood work is otherwise fine- obviously they think there is a underlining issue as to why the prednisolone keeps this all at bay- such as polyps or tumors- but he has balance issues because of the ear infections and I'm not putting a 14 yr old cat thorugh MRI's or catscans- for what? MY GP Vet keeps saying if it's cancer we'd have seen a mental change and physical change in 8 months besides the ongoing ear infections that flair up....so yes we're one of those 'basket' cases....
 
+11 = 9.0/162 - what do you all think- still go with the 2 units even if PAMPS test is in this range? I'm a bit scared because evening BG monitoring is very difficult- I literally have to take meds for my own health and sleep from 9 PM to 6 Am....if I do not take my meds and sleep I get very ill too.....
 
If he's droppiing I"ll likely not take my meds and be up all night...holy heavens I know today has been mostly positive but it's been so scary too I've thought the worse was going to happen and it hasn't so I need to calm TF down!
 
Let me try to help you calm down. Normal bg is 50-100. Cats in remission have bg as low as the 40’s. Regulated cats can be all green. Long term diabetics need to drop under 40 for a reduction. Look at other spreadsheets. It might help.

Human meters read a little higher than pet meters so there’s a little built in suction. Don’t become complacent but Victor has been safe all day. Regulated cats generally have flat cycles. Shooting low often leads to a nice flat cycle.
 
Back
Top