Vetsulin Dosing Question

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by Hshray, Feb 27, 2021.

  1. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    My cat was diagnosed on 1-23-21. His fasting BG was 380 at diagnosis. We started with a diet change to Friskie's pates and 0.5 units of Vetsulin twice a day. We had to go out of town in February, and when we got back his numbers were much higher (I'm guessing due to stress), but we finally got the hang of home testing last week and increased his dose to the 1 unit of Vetsulin twice a day, which was originally recommended by our vet. Based on the numbers we've gotten from periodic testing, it doesn't look like the 1 unit is doing as much as we would like...he hasn't gone under 200. Should I increase by 0.25 units or wait to get more data? His spreadsheet is:

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...UwkrSz7PuvBG98NE9sDqn0aTMD-aJsnCST5ob/pubhtml
     
  2. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Yes I would increase to 1.25 U and hold that for a few days.
     
  3. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Thank you!
     
    FrostD likes this.

Share This Page