Vetsulin dosage help (again☺)

Status
Not open for further replies.

smidge&smudge

Member Since 2017
My cat was diagnosed in January and since has been difficult to control, she is currently on vetsulin. Since I am doing home testing my vet had her on a sliding scale until I had done a curve last weekend. Following the sliding scale the curve was on 4 units, though knowing this was too high I went ahead to at least get it done so I can move along to getting better adjusted. She had somagyi effect and vet wanted her to stay on two units, which she has been on since Monday. She contines to test high am and pm before shot, and I am supposed to do another curve on the 2 units this weekend.

Just need any opinion because since she has been on the lower dose she has been drinking way, way more, peeing way more, hungry. At this point do you think 2 units is too low, too high, maybe vetsulin maybe a new insulin?

I attached the 4 unit curve, which is a bit scary. However she seems worse on lower dose?
 

Attachments

  • 20170213_080029.jpg
    20170213_080029.jpg
    27.9 KB · Views: 68
I would get more time/BG reading with dose of 2 units. This includes BG reading between shots as well as before shots.
For the long-term I would change to a longer lasting insulin like Lantus or Levemir. Next choice would be ProZinc.
Vetsulin/Caninsulin only last 8-14 hours and results in the type of cure yo are seeing; a steep drop and fast rise)
 
Will do, looking forward to the results, I just hate seeing her like this....
Thanks!
We're here to help you get her feeling better. Do you syringes have half unit marks on them? I ask because we might suggest smaller dose changes, ie., 0.25 u. Half unit changes are big jumps especially when the total dose is small.
 
Will do, looking forward to the results, I just hate seeing her like this....
Thanks!
Honey, it will get better. (((Hugs))) :bighug::bighug::bighug:

How comfortable are you with testing Smudge? Just wondering if we can get more data from you.....?
Smudge's blood glucose seems to be dropping very fast after the shot.
My suspicion is that she is dropping too low or/and too fast, and that this is causing her blood glucose to bounce up into these high numbers. (Others' opinions may vary, and possibly quite rightly so; this is just my opinion....)

Does Smudge have any history of ketones or ketosis/DKA? If not, then I would suggest keeping to the 2 unit dose, monitoring closely, and seeing if these 'blood glucose-swings' settle out. But it may well be that even that 2 units is too much and you need to back-pedal on the dose. (If that happens, that's fine. Just post for more help.)

How are you feeling? I know this must be really stressful. But things may improve really soon for you and Smudge...

Hugs to you,

Eliz
 
Thanks,
I am going to do a curve this weekend on the two units, that is good to know that it still may be too high because I was thinking she might need to increase. My syringes are pretty small so I think I think I could only make 1/2 unit changes. Because of work I wasn't able to do mid readings, so hopefully will get some info.
Thanks, I look forward to hopefully getting her worked out!
 
The more data you can get and list on your spreadsheet the clearer the picture becomes. When you look back to Feb 3 you can see that the preshot was high at 600 but within two hours the numbers had dropped a LOT down to 187. That tells you the dose at that time was definitely far too much. By listing the preshots and some testing in between you can see how much the Vetsulin is dropping Smudge's numbers at the dose you are currently using. If you look again at Feb 3 the two preshots were quite high which may have looked like more insulin was needed, but by seeing the +2 test after the shot it was clear that the dose was too high. If at all possible for Smudge's safety, try to always get a preshot test. Ideally another test at +2 or +3 hours after the shot will show what is happening in between shots. Data is so so important. You are doing a great job with Smudge!! :bighug: :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Hey there
If anyone is still following....I did the curve on 2 units today, just need any opinion if the numbers look good, if you think this is a good dose?
Thanks! Any help is much appreciated.
 
Hey there
If anyone is still following....I did the curve on 2 units today, just need any opinion if the numbers look good, if you think this is a good dose?
Thanks! Any help is much appreciated.
Nice curve, especially from +2 on to PMPS. That black looks like a bounce number. I suggest you stay at this dose at least through tomorrow. If tomorrow's numbers are like today's you can try going up to 2.25 u the next day.
 
Thanks for your input, I was surprised too with yesterday's pmps, was hoping to find the same this morning, but tested just now and it was "hi". Oh well, this is a journey lol.
 
Thanks for your input, I was surprised too with yesterday's pmps, was hoping to find the same this morning, but tested just now and it was "hi". Oh well, this is a journey lol.
It may be Tomorrow you will want to raise it a little, but let's see what happens today. Are you home to test a bunch today?
 
No, unfortunately not, have to work. I was really excited with yesterday's pmps only to be disappointed this morning. But at least she is acting better, it seems like she is more like her old self. She hasn't been pacing around and camped out by her water bowl as much. She even peed in the litter box a couple of times. She is quite the challenge!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top