Vet recommended goal BG of 180-220 instead of trying to get to 80-120

soreto

Member Since 2025
Kitty was diagnosed a month & a half ago. I am still doing the Low & Slow method to try to figure out the right dosage. This whole time I thought I was supposed to be trying to get him to the normal range of 80-120. However, at today's vet visit (first time since diagnosed), the vet said that diabetic cats are seen as 'controlled' if their numbers are 180-220. Her reasoning was that the BG level getting too low is so dangerous that it's better just to have a cat with higher BG.

Is this a typical method? Or should I keep shooting toward the normal range of 80-120?

some more info- kitty was in the 500s when first diagnosed, more recently in the 300s. it's only the last 3 days where i am getting numbers in the 100s. he eats throughout the day. he gets 2u twice a day. BG last 10 days-

dateu+1+2+3+4+5+6+7+8+9+10+11+1+2+3+4+5+6+7+8+9+10
9/211.75352265466
9/221.75386387457
9/232267467284
9/242477289336
9/252n/a307381
9/262350342419
9/272154223334
9/282163171
9/292194303
 
I was also by the hospital vet that Corky’s BG Should be between 200-300, imagine that, no it is not true if you keep Kitty on that BG range her pancreas will continue to deteriorate you want those low BGs to heal the pancreas and start to produce its own insulin , and by testing before each shot, and 2 hours after and 2-3 times a day you will be able to detect the insulin effect, in case you have a low reaction, and that is remedied with food, what are yiu feeding Kitty, a diabetic cat needs to have a wet can diet between 0-10% , if you are feeding any kibble and free feeding those contain between 20-30% carbs and what insulin are you using? Lantus and ProZinc are the best insulin for cats
 
Vets tend to promote higher than normal range numbers. This is largely due to most vets not recommending home testing. The other issue is that cats can go into remission. However, remission isn't going to happen if your cat can't maintain normal range numbers and 180 - 220 is not normal blood glucose range.
 
@CORKY @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

thanks for the great info! yes, my vet ALSO told me i didn't need to test BG daily. it's so strange! i'm going to keep testing! since he is in the 100s the last few days, i'm going to keep him at 2u & see if BG gets any lower.

is there a sticky for what to do if BG is too low? at what BG number should i not give insulin? this hasn't been an issue at all, but I assume it could be a possibility as I try to get into normal range.
 
Also, do you have a spreadsheet set up yet? It looks like you may based on your initial post, but I don't see it linked in your signature.
New? How You Can Help Us Help You! - Specifically the section on the spreadsheet
This will be really important if you have questions about whether you should give insulin or not (if kitty is on the lower side) or if it's time for a dose change.
 
Also, do you have a spreadsheet set up yet? It looks like you may based on your initial post, but I don't see it linked in your signature.
New? How You Can Help Us Help You! - Specifically the section on the spreadsheet
This will be really important if you have questions about whether you should give insulin or not (if kitty is on the lower side) or if it's time for a dose change.
Good please do continue testing, it will also help Isa lot to help you in dosing for you to create your signature and the spreadsheet
 
Last edited:
you create what is called a HYPO KIT, this contains a few high carb food such as gravies, and some medium carb foods, KARO syrup or honey, if you get to very low numbers we can help you hike up the BGwithout having to miss a dose, but you should post at 1 hour before shot, you can post 911 on a new thread to catch the members eye right away, but also read the link Lauren posted about hypo
 
Back
Top