Vet follow up tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris S

Member Since 2020
Ok so been home testing about 5 whole days ....
Tomorrow is a follow up.

reminder: lantus is used for both.

I see Winston has had some blue days, no green. And mostly hangs at yellow. Haven’t done a full curve day yet.
I think the vet is going to suggest increasing his dose. Do I still wait (opinion), go up a .25 , etc.
He will be fully off prednisone in 5 days (currently 1/4 tab every other day).
I kinda want to wait for pred to end. Is that ideal?

harley-she has had a few yellow, a blue or two but mostly red and pinks. What else should I be asking dr about befor they suggest another move to—3??

is it possible we missed that she could need barely any and now we are just pumping her ? (We had 1, no home testing, then 2 -no home testing. Then home testing w 2.5 .... )
Haven’t done a full curve for her either.

before adding more insulin, what should I be asking them tomorrow? Opinion? Thank you
 
In my opinion, and I'm no expert, I think both kitties could go up .25 of a unit any time. But I hear what you are saying about Winston. His BGL is likely to fall a bit once he is off the prednisone. You could still increase him .25, and watch his BGL closely once he's off the steroid.

Yes, the vet will probably suggest some giant dose increase. Let them. You know better than to increase all at once, so no harm done. You can creep the dosage up .25 at a time, holding each dose for 3 to 6 12-hour cycles, until you start to see more blues and greens.

As for Harley, her sugars were much higher on less insulin. Look at her nadirs now compared to the 400s she was getting at a lower dose. In my opinion, I don't think you've skipped over the right dose. I think you're almost to the right dose.

I can't think of anything else to ask the vet.
 
A couple of things I am noticing. You are not always testing before every shot with both of them.
It is really important to test before every shot....I can't stress that enough.
Also try and get some more tests in during the pm cycle if you can, as that is 1/2 the puzzle.
A 'before bed' test every night for both of them will tell you if they are going to drop further. If the 'before bed' test is lower than the preshot test, then it is a good idea to set the alarm and test again in a couple of hours to keep them safe.

With Harley you are getting some blue numbers inbetween the red/pink amd yellow numbers so she could be bouncing a bit....
If you are doing SLGS you need to hold the dose for 7 days and do a curve first before increasing the dose. I would not increase more than 0.25 units at a time.
If Winston is going to be off pred in 5 days I would be inclined to wait and see what his numbers are after the pred stops. You got a AMPS of 120 yesterday.
 
Thanks for the feedback

for Winston-some mornings it’s just my husband and he’s not fully ready for constant at home testing ( but will be tomrrow when the vet shows him how to do it because I wasn’t enough thus far lol). Thankfully I’m home and in the am we will test again together. The meter arrived this week so it’s new for us both :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top