CatMan_pdx
Member Since 2016
So I've been testing and tracking Rearden for a few weeks now. More than once, I've noticed that his nadir seems longer/slower. For example, yesterday:
AMPS: 247
When I saw he was on his way back up, I gave him a little under one unit (Lantus) to try to curb it rising over night. He was at 221 the next morning. Other times when I skipped a PM shot altogether, he was at 324 the morning after.
From what I've read around here a nadir at + 7, 8, 9 seems more "normal." Does he just use the insulin slower than normal? What does than mean for his dosing? How far back on the upswing should you go before giving more insulin?
(I know I need to do a more detailed curve for better detail, and will try to the next chance I have 12+ hours at home.)
NB: He eats 2oz low carb wet food at midnight, 6, noon, and 6pm daily. I test around 7am and 7pm, so I am testing him a bit after he eats. I use a True Metrix Blood Glucose Meter. spreadsheet here (i think I shared it correctly).
AMPS: 247
+9 145
+11 122
No PM shot since he was so low; didn't know if he was on his way up
+15 140
+11 122
No PM shot since he was so low; didn't know if he was on his way up
+15 140
When I saw he was on his way back up, I gave him a little under one unit (Lantus) to try to curb it rising over night. He was at 221 the next morning. Other times when I skipped a PM shot altogether, he was at 324 the morning after.
From what I've read around here a nadir at + 7, 8, 9 seems more "normal." Does he just use the insulin slower than normal? What does than mean for his dosing? How far back on the upswing should you go before giving more insulin?
(I know I need to do a more detailed curve for better detail, and will try to the next chance I have 12+ hours at home.)
NB: He eats 2oz low carb wet food at midnight, 6, noon, and 6pm daily. I test around 7am and 7pm, so I am testing him a bit after he eats. I use a True Metrix Blood Glucose Meter. spreadsheet here (i think I shared it correctly).