? Very long insulin absorption period

Status
Not open for further replies.

CatMan_pdx

Member Since 2016
So I've been testing and tracking Rearden for a few weeks now. More than once, I've noticed that his nadir seems longer/slower. For example, yesterday:
AMPS: 247
+9 145
+11 122
No PM shot since he was so low; didn't know if he was on his way up
+15 140​

When I saw he was on his way back up, I gave him a little under one unit (Lantus) to try to curb it rising over night. He was at 221 the next morning. Other times when I skipped a PM shot altogether, he was at 324 the morning after.

From what I've read around here a nadir at + 7, 8, 9 seems more "normal." Does he just use the insulin slower than normal? What does than mean for his dosing? How far back on the upswing should you go before giving more insulin?

(I know I need to do a more detailed curve for better detail, and will try to the next chance I have 12+ hours at home.)

NB: He eats 2oz low carb wet food at midnight, 6, noon, and 6pm daily. I test around 7am and 7pm, so I am testing him a bit after he eats. I use a True Metrix Blood Glucose Meter. spreadsheet here (i think I shared it correctly).
 
It's best to feed him after the AMPS/PMPS. Withhold food for 2 hours before the test and shot this way you see what his levels are without increase from food.
I don't use lantus so I can't tell you if it's normal for it to last so long. I'm sure some of the pros will be along soon to help answer your questions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top