Very high blood sugar and excessive eating

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: High blood sugar 2 hrs before shot

She also just scarfed an entire can of cat food in about 5 minutes. never ever does that.
 
i would just shoot regular amount at regular shot time. it's a bump in the road and her body will naturally clear some of the carbs out so you don't want to overreact and shoot early (acts as a dose increase w/ lantus) or more than usual
 
Ok thank you. Any idea about the eating? she has been acting as if she's starving lately... eating a full can of cat food, then NEEDS another one 3 hours later, eating every tiny bit of crumb she can get ahold of...
 
well normally i would say the high bg can cause her to be hungrier but that would not have started before the pizza debacle. just peeked at her spreadsheet. her bg's i think are high enough to warrant wanting to eat more but again, i wouldn't think it would be a new thing because her bg's have been upper 200's and 300's for awhile now. do you post in the lantus isg at all?

how old is she? and when was the last time she was at the vet? i'm wondering about things like possible hyperthyroid perhaps that could be causing her to be hungrier. there's a couple other things too that that could cause increased hunger but i was just on my way to bed to meet my brain there and can't think of them right now :-(
 
Baby is 5 and she hasn't been to the vet since her diagnosis because I can't afford to send her. So really, if anything is really wrong with her, there isn't much I can do about it.

She has been diagnosed for 6 months and her sugars still aren't under control. I don't really know what to do.
 
resources for those in need
edited to add: this is a link to a post on "Diabetic Cats in Need--Sharing Resources"



Sarah and Baby said:
....So really, if anything is really wrong with her, there isn't much I can do about it...

I disagree. If you can't treat an animal for a fatal disease, you can be humane and help her across the bridge, rather than letting her suffer until she passes.
 
Ok, I just want to say that I am doing what I can for my cat. If she is fatally sick, I will put her down. My point was that I can't take her to the vet.

She's only 5 years old, she's basically healthy. Probably weighs about 9lbs. I am feeding her four 3.5oz cans a day.
 
Sarah,
Some cats will all of a sudden crave food and eat it very quickly because their BG has gone too low, and they have the instinct to know that food will help it back up. If she scarfed food down that fast, and continues doing it, she might be lower than you think she is? If she does eat like that, it's very important that she keep the food down. You can feed her a whole can, but try to do it like 1/4 can at a time so that she doesn't toss if back up.
I couldn't see it on the SS, but what is her current dose? Is it still 1.25u BID?
Carl
 
She is at 1.4 now, sorry i forgot to go back and put her dosing in. I test her before I feed her almost always and she is usually in the mid 200's
 
Is she acting the same today as far as food goes?
Carl
 
why don't you try to give her the same total amount of foods BUT split it into twice as many meals.

Instead of giving a can every 6hrs, try giving 1/2 can or a bit less every 3hrs. You may also see some better numbers if food is given more often. you could try diff variations, like 1/4 can every 2hrs and the meals at shot times can be bigger amounts.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top