Velcro 7/28 AMPS=175; +2=83; +2.5=77 LC +3=71 HC; +3.5=71; +4=83; +8=101

AEHawkeye

Member Since 2019
Not off to a great start today... Velcros BG just high enough to need insulin, but not so high that I’m not terrified for an afternoon crash. Also, a pee spot on the protective pee pads, he hid in my closet, and I had to syringe feed him because he didn’t eat enough on his own to take the insulin. Punishment for staying out late last night? Yesterday
 
Last edited:
And we’re heading for another day too low. This is my last day before I have to go back to the office and if this happens tomorrow, I’m screwed because I can’t stay home all day and test and administer HC food and honey.
 
Let's see how this cycle goes. I suspect Velcro will need less than 0.5 units.

Why don't you change your title to something like dose advice/going back to work and put the '?' on. See what others have to say :)
 
Let's see how this cycle goes. I suspect Velcro will need less than 0.5 units.

Why don't you change your title to something like dose advice/going back to work and put the '?' on. See what others have to say :)
The vet really wants us to try 0.5 once a day. I know this group does not advocate that but he said he has seen more success with that than with two 0.25 doses. My husband is taking over testing for a couple of hours, and knows the emergency kit so will ask for advice later today.
 
We have seen lots of people try, and fail, at once a day dosing. Lantus doesn’t last that long in most cats. Giving 0.25 units twice a day would even out the numbers more and give less risk of the higher dose.

By the way, he was in completely safe numbers today. Our take action number where we give HC if using a human meter is 50. But he did earn a reduction down to 0.25 units since you are using SLGS.
 
We have seen lots of people try, and fail, at once a day dosing. Lantus doesn’t last that long in most cats. Giving 0.25 units twice a day would even out the numbers more and give less risk of the higher dose.

By the way, he was in completely safe numbers today. Our take action number where we give HC if using a human meter is 50. But he did earn a reduction down to 0.25 units since you are using SLGS.

Thanks for the advice. Based on my experience with Velcro on the Lantus, he needed intervention before 50. I’m actually very happy with how today has gone. I will check his numbers in an hour and decide if I am going to go with the vet’s advice next or not.
 
Hi @AEHawkeye ! How's it going?

Looks like Velcro earned another reduction. We do have a dose that's 0.1 u and even smaller. I've never done that dose myself but maybe someone could come along and show you? I'm just headed out the door but when I have time later, I'll look for that thread that shows how to do a really small dose.
 
Hi @AEHawkeye ! How's it going?

Looks like Velcro earned another reduction. We do have a dose that's 0.1 u and even smaller. I've never done that dose myself but maybe someone could come along and show you? I'm just headed out the door but when I have time later, I'll look for that thread that shows how to do a really small dose.
We’ve been doing 0.25 units when he tests above 150 and he hasn’t been crashing so that feels more comfortable.
 
Back
Top