
That's happened to me, too. Hungry kitties wanna eat! We humans do the best we can, but it's still on the cat's terms.I’m a beginner - not even a week treating a diabetic cat yet! I had to feed him. He nosed the lid off the food container because he was ready to eat and started going at it before I could even get the BG number recorded.
We humans really are all just minions for our cats lol.if I don't get the food out quickly enough (not a morning person, Catcat *is* a morning cat) -- he goes outside, catches a shrew, and brings it in, drops it on the floor
and gives me "THAT LOOK" -- paws madly at the cabinet below the one which holds the food
Yup - every day. 3 cats here, and 3 different terms lol.That's happened to me, too. Hungry kitties wanna eat! We humans do the best we can, but it's still on the cat's terms.


Velcro also prefers his whiskers to remain unimpeded while feasting. We use little appetizer plates. On a towel because he is messy. Prior to these health issues, he ate 6 small meals a day. When he was an only kitty, he free fed but the other cats will eat all his food so we adopted the 6 small meal approach.This is definitely a game of patience and watchfulness. If Luci eats anything at all, I proceed with her shot - however, I'm home to watch. For whatever reason Luci likes to play the game of 'mama I don't want this' and then 10 minutes later she's in there eating it...don't even ask what that is all about - but she free feeds...this business of feeding her on a schedule (like many vets advise) had to go - Luci will only eat on her own terms - if I leave the food and say, eat it or not, I don't care...every single time I find that dish emptied right out. I also found that she apparently doesn't like her whiskers to touch the side of a bowl - so I use the flat carry out pans you get from the restaurants - she always clean her 'plate' ... I think she likes to feel like she's in charge (don't tell her I'm watching, it'll blow my cover)![]()
Yup, so I’m interpreting that he needs a lower dose in order to dose 2 times a day. Last night I lowered his dose from 1 to 0.75, and he also went down to 56 before I got nervous and brought it up.remember, Lantus is a "depot" insulin -- what you are probably seeing is the depot contributing insulin to the blood, it redissolves over a period of hours, your injections just "fill it up" again

Like a backboard for his food lolI have a large round bowl with the sides sloping inwards a bit at the top, think it was intended either as a shallow fish bowl, or a centerpiece for flowers floating
because of Catcat's wonky tongue (cannot curl backwards, only a little forwards), he splashes his food forwards, up the sides of a conventional dish, sometimes right over the top of even a deep dish
doesn't seem to mind getting whiskers in or on the dish, he has remarkably long ones, I have to clean off the ends at times -- the only way I could use "go" cartons, would be if the lid were still attached and propped up vertically -- laughing at the mental picture![]()
So great to hear that everything is going well, it must be a relief for you!Velcro must be feeling better - he’s been segregated from the rest of the house since he came home Thursday, downstairs (finished basement, walkout with plenty of squirrels and birds to watch). Partially because of his still being sick and neuropathy, and partially to keep the other cats from bothering him. Between my husband and I, we’ve taken turns being with him for all but a few hours a day, even sleeping in the guest bed with him. Occasionally I’d find him halfway up the stairs waiting for me to come back down. Last night we watched Netflix and left the door open for the other cats to come down as they pleased, and we all excised peacefully on the couch together. This morning I again left the basement door open as I was getting things together for the afternoon and all the sudden I couldn’t find Velcro. He had wandered all the way upstairs on his own, and was attempting to eat the other cats’ hard food. Not for you Velcro!
Ya this is a possibility. One of them will be fine with the change, but the other one won’t even smell it. The other option is to not free feed the others - they used to be on a schedule, so we could put them back on.So great to hear that everything is going well, it must be a relief for you!
I ended up transitioning my civvie cat Nyx to wet food as well because I know Mowgli would find a way to get into the kibble![]()
I hear ya! Luckily for me, Nyx took a natural curiosity to wet food, and the transition happened easier than I thought... I thought there would be NO way that she would switch. Currently, Mowgli is unable to jump up high so before Nyx's switch, I kept her kibble up where she was able to access but Mowgli couldn't get to, could this work for you?Ya this is a possibility. One of them will be fine with the change, but the other one won’t even smell it. The other option is to not free feed the others - they used to be on a schedule, so we could put them back on.
We put our other cat on a LC wet diet as soon as we got Perry's diagnosis so it wouldn't matter if he ate her food. But that's now always an option. ECID!I ended up transitioning my civvie cat Nyx to wet food as well because I know Mowgli would find a way to get into the kibble![]()
Yup, possibly, Velcro can’t jump too high right now.I hear ya! Luckily for me, Nyx took a natural curiosity to wet food, and the transition happened easier than I thought... I thought there would be NO way that she would switch. Currently, Mowgli is unable to jump up high so before Nyx's switch, I kept her kibble up where she was able to access but Mowgli couldn't get to, could this work for you?
How bad is Velcro's neuropathy? Perry had a very mild case of it, but it seems to have cleared up. He never had trouble jumping up on the counter, but his rear feed would sometimes skid out a little underneath him when he landed.Yup, possibly, Velcro can’t jump too high right now.
I don’t know how to measure it really, but when he was in the hospital he could barely stand at first. When we started morning around some, his haunches were just hovering over the ground. But he’s been gaining strength and balance since being home. He can jump up on the couch most of the time, and he climbed the stairs a couple times today. He was eyeing the counter (because he wants the other catss’) food, but i didn’t let him try. He wouldn’t have made it.How bad is Velcro's neuropathy? Perry had a very mild case of it, but it seems to have cleared up. He never had trouble jumping up on the counter, but his rear feed would sometimes skid out a little underneath him when he landed.
I had to feed him. He nosed the lid off the food container because he was ready to eat and started going at it before I could even get the BG number recorded.
Poor buddy. That had to be upsetting to see him hauching about. Great to hear that he's improving, though. I hope it continues.I don’t know how to measure it really, but when he was in the hospital he could barely stand at first. When we started morning around some, his haunches were just hovering over the ground. But he’s been gaining strength and balance since being home. He can jump up on the couch most of the time, and he climbed the stairs a couple times today. He was eyeing the counter (because he wants the other catss’) food, but i didn’t let him try. He wouldn’t have made it.
Other folks told me not to beat myself up the second day I posted here, and they were right, so I'll pass along that bit of wisdom: Don't beat yourself up! You're doing such a good job already and you just started. You deserve a pat on the back, my friend.+8.5=246... darn picked wrong again. I guess I should have gone ahead with the lower dose this morning. I just couldn’t test every hour. Now the poor guy has to wait for his insulin. He’s clearly felt better the last couple days when it’s been down.![]()
Indeed, not terrible!So his PMPS was 268. Not terrible after all!
Hope it all evens out for you guys!Indeed, not terrible!
We are in the same boat as you tonight, by the way. Low PMPS numbers, so we reduced his evening dose from 2u to 1u. We'll see what happens here.
Yes - and good thing too. It was a busy day (even without BG obsessing) and we fell asleep snuggling on the couch. Heading to bed after Velcro finishes a between nap drink.Sounds like a nice restful night for the family then! Velcro is doing good tonight.