UTI opinions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lando demando

Member Since 2021
Hello!

my Lando has had quite a few things going on since his diabetes diagnosis a few weeks ago. Pancreatitis, anorexia, along with the symptoms associated have been treated by his vet.

when i got my toolkit together, i ordered a CheckUp all in one urine test strip. That covers, glucose, ph, blood in urine and protein levels. The test strips arrived yesterday after my vet closed and Lando tested POSITIVE for blood in urine. I panicked and tried to get an urgent care to see him, but in Los Angeles most emergency and urgent care vets are all at capacity and only taking life threatening cases.

He is not straining, meatloafing, nor yelping, his urine looks clear and his urine clumps are baseball sized.

does anyone have any info or opinions to calm my nerves for the next 18 hrs?

thank you!
 
Hi Chelsea I can't help with the UTI but I can tag a few members for you
I was looking at your spreadsheet and I think I remember you said you are having trouble testing Lando. You are giving all different doses, Lantus is not based on the pre shots they are based on how low he's dropping.
You have to try and test both AM and PM pre shots and at least 2 tests after maybe a test at +4 and ai +6 both day and evening . If you work during the day test him in the morning and if possible before you leave get a +2 and then when you get home
We have no idea how the insulin is working for Lando
Please don't think that I am being fresh, I just am trying to help you out and get Lando on a certain dose that will help him

Here are the notes again about SLGS for Lantus
Starting Dose:
  • 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
  • 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet
  • If the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
  • Generally, shots are to be given 12 hours apart.
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Hello Dianne and thank you.

no you are not being fresh at all ;) i realize Landos sheet looks like a disaster. Today was my first success at taking 3 BG readings and i think i have it now.

The reason for the inconsistent doses was that lando had a pancreas flare up and stopped eating for more than two days. It really thew me into a tail spin. He seemed to be doing better and eating ( with the help of miritaz) so my vet suggested i hop back on yesterday late morning.

The info you posted has even more new info i did not know. I will read it in depth now.

PS i have a thick skin and welcome all the information/help
 
Hello Dianne and thank you.

no you are not being fresh at all ;) i realize Landos sheet looks like a disaster. Today was my first success at taking 3 BG readings and i think i have it now.

The reason for the inconsistent doses was that lando had a pancreas flare up and stopped eating for more than two days. It really thew me into a tail spin. He seemed to be doing better and eating ( with the help of miritaz) so my vet suggested i hop back on yesterday late morning.

The info you posted has even more new info i did not know. I will read it in depth now.

PS i have a thick skin and welcome all the information/help


I'm glad you weren't offended, I have a thick skin also (Italian) :p
Any time you aren't sure about anything just ask ok
I hope one of the other members I tagged get back to you about the UTI
Poor baby.
Here is the complete link about Lantus
I hope you can get Lando in tomorrow to see your vet :bighug::bighug:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/
 
Tomorrow am will be my first intended AMPS
He has only successfully eaten three meals, so im a bit gunshy still to add more stress to the mix by poking him before dinner ( he sadly does NOT have a thick skin ;) )
 
I would not be worried about a little blood. He likely does have a uti and needs a urinalysis with culture and sensitivity to get the right antibiotic and make sure that’s what it is.
Yes i had to CALM DOWN after i read the test strip. I am calling the vet for the 4 th workday in a row ha) tomorrow am
 
If he’s not showing any symptoms I would not be too worried just yet, and just try to make him an appointment as soon as you can to get it checked out. It could be a UTI or it could just be some kind of inflammation/irritation of the bladder.
 
If he’s not showing any symptoms I would not be too worried just yet, and just try to make him an appointment as soon as you can to get it checked out. It could be a UTI or it could just be some kind of inflammation/irritation of the bladder.
Thank you Sarah! An inflammation was what i was wondering could cause the positive test.
 
The only way to know what's going on is for the vet to get a sterile urine sample (a needle into the bladder -- cystocentesis) and then get a culture and sensitivity. Sterile cystitis can also cause the bladder to be irritated. Usually glucosamine will help.
 
Thank you Sarah! An inflammation was what i was wondering could cause the positive test.
Yes, that happened to my cat in May. I rushed her to the ER vet for symptoms of a UTI and she had a lot of red and white blood cells in her urine, but they did not do a culture (they later did a culture, which they lost :banghead:). But after talking to my regular vet, we both agreed that it was most likely inflammation or some other kind of irritation. With no symptoms, it could be that you just caught the UTI super early or it could just be inflammation. A urinalysis and/or culture should be able to let you know which it is :cat:
 
Yes, that happened to my cat in May. I rushed her to the ER vet for symptoms of a UTI and she had a lot of red and white blood cells in her urine, but they did not do a culture (they later did a culture, which they lost :banghead:). But after talking to my regular vet, we both agreed that it was most likely inflammation or some other kind of irritation. With no symptoms, it could be that you just caught the UTI super early or it could just be inflammation. A urinalysis and/or culture should be able to let you know which it is :cat:
So good to know! I guess every emergency vet being at capacity this weekend slowed my roll.
 
Hi Debby good catch I didn't even realize what forum she posted on
Thank you :cat:
I was just looking at Maggie's profile she was a gorgeous kitty. I'm so sorry about her and her brother Max :bighug:
@Maggies Mom Debby
Thanks. It’s been a long time but still miss my Maggie. She was my heart kitty. She and her brother were beautiful. (I have a weakness for Siamese!)
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top