Using remainder insulin? 07/05 Puddin AMPS 314, +4 461, PMPS 294

Bella & Puddin

Member Since 2024
Previous

Puddin has been acting/looking well lately. Today he had some "soundy" breathing - it also got up to 101°. Sometimes, however, I think he doesn't breathe in enough of his Flovent dose (which I've understood acts like a depot, as well) so this may cause that nosey breathing, too. He's been playful again and he's taking his higher doses well.

I forgot I could increase 2u once we hit the 20s, so I'll keep with another 1u increase then go to 2u so I can stay in the even numbers. We are currently at 21u.

Question: I have insulin left in a bottle that is not sufficient for a full dose. Is there a way to use this insulin? Would I need to use two syringes and give two shots (to equal a full dose)?
 
Previous

Puddin has been acting/looking well lately. Today he had some "soundy" breathing - it also got up to 101°. Sometimes, however, I think he doesn't breathe in enough of his Flovent dose (which I've understood acts like a depot, as well) so this may cause that nosey breathing, too. He's been playful again and he's taking his higher doses well.

I forgot I could increase 2u once we hit the 20s, so I'll keep with another 1u increase then go to 2u so I can stay in the even numbers. We are currently at 21u.

Question: I have insulin left in a bottle that is not sufficient for a full dose. Is there a way to use this insulin? Would I need to use two syringes and give two shots (to equal a full dose)?
@Wendy&Neko
 
How much do you think is left in the vial? People have split doses across 2 syringes before. For example, if the dose gets above 30 units. Make sure you can monitor that cycle. Some people (not all), noticed a little more action with a split dose.
 
How much do you think is left in the vial? People have split doses across 2 syringes before. For example, if the dose gets above 30 units. Make sure you can monitor that cycle. Some people (not all), noticed a little more action with a split dose.
I'd say it's about 10u left in the bottle. If I were to do a split dose, do I shoot in two farther apart locations (one on each side of the body), or try to get them close together?
 
I never split doses nor saw what other people did - it was a rare enough thing. I think maybe done more before my time here? And more on people with really large doses - which are quite uncommon.
 
Back
Top