Using Novolin N and wanting to switch food

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kimmied

Member Since 2014
Hank is acting like he feels better. My vet just changed dosage again to 5.5u 2x/day. So have started that today. Not very good number at the +4 after AM shot...293. I think I read that it takes 3-5 days for new dosage? I still think it's the food I have Hank on that's raising is levels so high. I have him on Iams original dry food. He is not free-feeding anymore. I feed him 1/2c. dry at 5:30am and 5:30pm (give or take). I have told the vet this and my concerns and he has repeatedly told me not to switch his food! He says it will make it harder to get him regulated. Hank still has no interest in wet food as I have switched my cat, Oscar, to wet and Hank doesn't even bother Oscar's dish. Oh, for those who don't know, Hank is my grandkitty from my son that has recently come to live with my husband and I. I don't know what to tell my vet. He thinks we are getting close to getting Hank regulated. Do I just wait, get some 0 carb dry food and try that? Start trying a little everyday of the wet again? I wanted to get testing mastered before switching his food. I'm doing much better with that...getting enough blood on first prick most times. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Kimmied
 
Ok, I just read JennyBankers thread on feeding and the preshot. I think I may be doing the spread sheet preshot wrong. Beings hank is on Novolin my vet told me to feed Hank 30min-1hour before shot. Hank usually eats about 1/2c. 2x/day. It's usually gone before time for his shot. If it is I give him a little more to distract him so I can give him his shot. So If it isn't gone (food) should I leave it down till gone? I've been picking it up (usually not much anyway) and putting away. The vet told me to make sure I was measuring his food out and no more free-feeding. Anyway, I"ve been checking Hank before he eats and using that number as the preshot number (that number is usually +10 or +11, right?). So should I feed him and test right before his shot for the preshot number even though he's been eating for an hour? I just want to be doing this right. Thanks.

Kimmied
 
Based on the low BG (86) you got on 5 units (9/2(0 I consider going to 5 1/2 units is not in the right direction. To the the 9/29 is the best you are going to get with N and the Iams dry food.
Yes, I would would slowly switch to a lower-carb dry as recommending in a previous discussion. I think it would be prudent to reduce the dose as you add more of the lower carb dry.
 
Jenny is using ProZinc and feeding before the shot is not as important as with N. Because you often get a harsh fast onset with N, you want to be sure there is food in his tummy. I'd test, then feed and then dose based on the number.

You got suggestions for lower carb dry in your previous thread. Maybe try a sample of those?
 
I've decided to go with the Wysong 90. Ordering it today. Thanks all. :smile:

Kimmied
 
I am not sure of the carbs in the Wynsong, but if it is less than the Iams, you should also lower the insulin dose too. Lowering the carbs can drastically lower the BG levels. If you do not also lower your dose considerably, you risk Hank becoming hypoglycemic, which could be dangerous or deadly. It is better to be too high for a short time than a moment of being too low.
 
Hi Lisa,
That is what I'm worried about. What is the best way to do this transition? Mix the two? Test, feed and the test again before shot? Go ahead and lower anyway? What is the usual procedure? I'm not sure what the carbs. on the Wysong are. Can anyone using it tell me? I'm positive it is less than Iams though so I understand the risks. I could always stop insulin and monitor, right?

Kimmied
 
Phasing in the new food, 20-25% per day has th added advantage of reducing GI upsets (nausea, vomiting, diarrhea) which may happen with sudden food changes.

The insulin dose could (not will) drop 2 units, give or take. You might drop 0.5 units a day as you phase in the food change.

Testing around the expected nadir between +3 to +4 for Novolin, as well as getting the regular pre-shot tests will clue you in for dose adjustments.
 
Ok. Thank you BJM for your input. I appreciate it. I will be careful when I transition. First, I got to order the dry. I tried again offering some wet food with crumbled dry on it and he just looked at the dish. Then I poured dry on it and he ate a couple of bites of dry and walked away. I ended up dumping it and pouring new dry in dish, which he ate. Cats, gotta love their independence! :lol:

Kimmied
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top