Urgent - Milo Help Again!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danielle & Milo

Member Since 2015
Milo read 134 this morning and then I tried to give him wet food and he won't eat it. My vet told me to give him 2 units twice daily but I'm not sure I need to give him 2 units this morning. What should I do???
 
Wait 30 minutes without feeding and re-test.

What insulin? (please put that in your signature-answers take that into context)
 
Just in case BJ doesn't get back to you, here's what I 'd do if it were my cat.

1. if my cat were ketone-prone I'd post asking for advice about what to do on the Lantus and Levemir board, and also contact my vet's out of hours number.

2. ON THE ASSUMPTION THAT KETONES ARE NOT AN ISSUE I would skip the dose for safety reasons, and go get a stock of test strips. (I am assuming that Milo has only recently been diagnosed and that you do not have enough data gathered to determine whether it is safe to give insulin on a preshot BG of 134.)

Other members may suggest different.
 
Milo has been lantus for a little over 2 weeks now. I'm afraid his BG is so good at 134 that if I shot him with any insulin this morning I would be in trouble
 
Last edited:
I think your decision was a wise one. With such a low preshot number, very little BG data and only one test strip in the house, it was the safest move to make (again with the proviso that Milo has no issues with ketones).

Methinks shopping for test strips is definitely on today's To Do list. :)
 
Good decision to skip. At least, until you get more data, we typically do not shoot below 200. What we do is stall which means, no food and testing about 20-30 minutes to see if his numbers get above 200. Once you get above 200, then you can decide how much to shoot. You can stall and test several times until you decide to just skip. Remember that you are on a 12 hour cycle so if you stall and then shoot, then you have just moved your shot times. You may also expect his number to be high tonight. Always make sure that you have ample amount of strips in case you run into too low of numbers or need to stall. You can check out my spreadsheet as I had to stall last night (twice) and then made the decision to not shoot (NS).

When did you start Milo on insulin? There are some things you can do to help. First to update your signature as BJ indicated. This will give folks here a snapshot of Milo's information. The next things to do is setting up a spreadsheet. There are folks here that can help you set it up otherwise our spreadsheet instructions are here.
 
The re-test was to see if he was rising and if so, it might have been safe to shoot. The interesting thing with Lantus is that as you accumulate test data, you can shoot low to stay low. Until you have that mid-cycle test data, though, you just don't know enough about how your cat responds to the insulin.

Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top