urgent help needed vetsulin switch to humulin n

Status
Not open for further replies.
Pony has had diabetes for several years now and eats wellness canned food twice a day. We were using 8 units of vetsulin twice a day with good clinical success. Now there is no more vetsulin supply and we switched to Humulin N(we tried lantus before vetsulin without success). I have been giving her 3 units twice a day with food at 2 am and 2pm since monday. thursday night she threw up twice and since thursday morning she has eaten only half of her food at each meal. she is lethargic and seems bloated and uncomfortable. i finally figured out that i needed to be home testing and i got an accumeter today. At 8pm her bg was 324. At 10pm it was 418. I want to increase her insulin dose but am wondering if i should keep testing every 2 hours until i can make a curve first? i know there are a lot of experienced people on this message board and i am hoping for some advice. i am new to the numbers and i know that ideal numbers are much, much lower than these. but are these numbers so high that i need to act now? and if so, what action? I just want to help Pony. She is 12 years old and weighs 9 pounds. Can someone please, please help me figure out if this is an emergency. i am trying to stay calm and just observe things clinically right now. on the good side she is eating some food and she is alert. any advice will help. i am feeling very alone on a friday night.
 
Re: please help vetsulin switch to humulin n

Elise, I do not know much about humilin, but that seems like a lot of insulin to me.
You might want to add the word URGENT HELP NEEDED to the title of your post to get more eyes on here pronto.

~M
 
thanks mary, i just took another reading at 11:45 pm and pony's bg is at 534. it has been a long day. i was so scared to approach the ear pricking and now after three pricks i realize how easy that part is and how much, much harder it is to figure out what to do with the numbers once you have them. so again, if anyone on here has any advice i would be ever so grateful. i am scared. i know that the really low numbers are supposed to be the most critical, but what do i make of such high numbers. have i already broken the start low and go slow rule by starting at 3 units. i think my vet was thinking it was the right place to start her. i don't know in which direction to go.
 
Re: please help vetsulin switch to humulin n

Hi Elise

Just wanted to let you know that you're not alone, unfortunately I can't offer any advice, just a little hand holding. I know absolutely nothing about switching insulin types. I'm very new to this, my little guy was just diagnosed in April. Hopefully one of the experts on this board will come along and offer some useful advice. I think doing a curve would be a good idea, it's good to have Pony's blood glucose values in order to make any dosage changes.
Please call your vet in the am if nobody chimes in here.
Hang in there.

June
 
Hi Elise,

I have experience of Caninsulin, not Humulin.
Both are lumped in the same Insulin support group (isg). I can't think off the top of my head who uses humulin. An idea would be to visit the Can/Hum isg. Read the stickies-may help.
Scroll through-it's a very quiet isg these days (mainly because of the FDA warning and people swapping to more popular insulins like Lantus) and see if you can find someone who uses Humulin. Then at the right hand side in their signature you'll see the icon for PM.Click on that and send them a message asking if they could offer any advice.

Couple of other things-be good if you could set up a spread sheet (ss).If you post in tech forum (sorry I'm hopeless and needed help with this) someone will help 'talk' you through how to set one up. Post your numbers.

I'd try and get some +3,4,5 tests-I think this is roughly the usual peak time of short acting insulins. If (and only if) humulin is like Caninsulin, it tails off after +10 and hence high numbers at the beginning and end of a cycle. Kitty's numbers could be swinging widely so say 300+ am preshot, drop to 100 or less at peak (when insulin working it's hardest) and then rise again. Makes kitty feel quite crappy (think of humans)

Can I ask, did you get any numbers with Lantus,dose you were on?
I would still advocate a longer acting insulin, just from what I've seen on the board, kitties tend to stabilise better. That's not to say with hometesting you can get a handle on this.

The ethos of this board is start low go slow-you could be seeing rebound-the high low swing I previously mentioned. Could be because kitty dropping low, the body's life saving response is kicking in and releasing glucagon to raise glucose in the blood stream. One way is to get those mid numbers I mentioned to see how much swing your getting.

Would suggest you also get keto diastix (from pharmacy) and test for keyrones. Just stick under pee stream. Need to do this till kitty stabilised, regardless of insulin on.
Would also suggest for time being you post in health as an on-going due to such minimal traffic in the Vetsulin/humulin isg.

Good luck
:mrgreen:
PS-what food do you feed?
 
thanks for the thorough response. i will take your advice and test for ketones. i just started with home testing today so i can't give numbers about lantus from the past. my vet was doing periodic fructosamine tests and pony has always been in the poor regulation range. she got up to i think as high as 12 units twice a day on lantus and was still poorly regulated. we switched her to vetsulin because she wasn't responding to lantus and although her numbers were still in poor regulation on vetsulin they were closer to acceptable. also she was clinically MUCH better on vetsulin. way less thirst and urine, way more energy. i regret that i never knew about this rebound possibility til now because looking back i can see that it is possible that lantus wasn't working because of too high a dose. i just don't know. i am now starting over with humulin n, and i feel like i may have already screwed up by starting at 3 units. but at the same time i fear that 3 units may just be no where near enough. i am trying to remember the go slow part. i will definately get more numbers soon and i will need help interpreting them. my vet is not open again until monday. once i have the curve made, how will i know if what i am seeing is rebound or just very poor regulation?
 
Hi,

12u-that is whopping! No way of knowing if she was rebounding (though there is a field of thought that kitties don't rebound on Lantus, but lets leave that alone for now and concentrate on Humulin)

There are conditions known as Acromegaly and IAA (it's insulin resistance, can't remember the full title at this point). Such cats do need high doses of insulin. However, this can only be worked out over time and then with lots of figures having certain tests done. Again, your not at this point yet.

A rebound check is where you cut the insulin dose by at least half. Would not recommend doing this unless testing for keytones (basically a lack of insulin and can be life threatening, so need to tread carefully).

If you get the checks I suggested in my previous post this will definitely give you some good information. If you do get a number under 50, this is a definite decrease regardless. Would suggest you post such a number immediately and ask for help.
Get the hypo toolkit list (can't remember if on this forum or general cat health one). Want to get some karo syrup and some wet high carb food for such an event. This raises bg's fast to bring kitty out of dangerous numbers.

So, what to do now:
post your preshot number (kitty not having eaten)
then test +1 (just for today to see what's happening you want more tests initially) then a +2. Based on that get hourly or 2 hourly tests. Would suggest you do get a +3,4 and 5 at least today. This will give you an idea of when peak action is in your kitty (when insulin working it's hardest and thus lowest bg number in a 12 hour cycle)

Post as:
amps
+1
+2 etc

Change the icon in your original title if you need help urgently. Due to all of us being from around the world, always someone around. Everyone can advise on low numbers treatment regardless of the insulin they are using.
Then when got numbers can discuss whether to decrease dose or not.
Don't forget your ketodiastix.
Good luck :mrgreen:
 
i am still working on getting all my numbers. here is what i have so far. i am piecing together a curve by joining numbers from yesterday and today- from what i have read that seems to be okay.

PM preshot just read as "HI" so it must have been higher than 577, which is my highest other number.
+1: 577
+2: 432
+3: 381
+4: 335
+5: 272

so these numbers actually came first but were taken at +6,+8, and +10 in relation to her AM shot
+6: 324
+8: 418
+10: 534
+12: HI
again, this is with 3 units of humulin n, a starting dose switch for a cat that had been on 8 units of vetsulin. once i am able to fill in the missing three numbers, will i have enough info to figure out my next move? pony has been having a rough day, as have i. i'd like to try on my next dose to either make a shift by 1 unit up or 1 unit down. throughout the night she has been drinking so much water and i can tell she does not feel comfortable. i really, really need advice. right now i am still thinking that 3 units is not enough so please chime in if anyone thinks otherwise. i am not afraid to hear that i don't know what i am talking about, or that i need to take her to an emergency vet, or that i am on the right track. thanks. i will fill in the missing numbers as i get them.
 
Hi Elise,

the numbers isn't quite right.

You have the scale right but you do it new for each new cycle. (so if you got amps...., +2.... +7...... Then next cycle say pmps +2..... +3.... +8.....Then start with amps again on your next am shot)
This shows you the difference from one day to the next.
Take a peek at Lucky's ss and you will see what I mean.

She may well need an increase but we need to see how low she is going first, but I'm also inclined to wonder if this could be rebound.
I have pm'd Cindy as she has experience with Humulin and would prefer to see some input from her or another humulin user.

Kitty drinking lots of water because her glucose is so high in her body.
We do need to be careful here as her numbers are so high, but if you can just bear with until a humulin user comes.

Can you go get the ketodiastix? Another piece to the jigsaw. Can then also decide whether you should try cutting dose.

Any other health issues?
All p's in place? Purring, preening, playful, pooping, peeing?
 
Please take a look at this link, the Humulin 101, basics, if you will.

viewtopic.php?f=19&t=303

I used Humulin N years ago and found that with Tucker the duration was 4-6 hours. So for the other 6-8 hours before his next shot he was not feeling well. Actually the entire day he was not feeling well, lots of ups and downs.

If I had to use Humulin today I'd probably be shooting 3 times a day to try to keep numbers down, but we switched to a couple of different insulins since then and have now settled on Levemir.

If you are not comfortable going back to Lantus or Levemir which is similar, I would ask that you look at PZI or another insulin called ProZinc.

I'd also consider changing from feeding twice a day to maybe three meals a day. Food does play a role in this, in my opinion. I feed my own cats four small meals per day, it seems to keep things more level.
 
Here's some info from Wiki on Symogi rebound:
Detecting and avoiding chronic Somogyi rebound
Oddly, too much insulin may result in increase of blood glucose (BG). This "Somogyi effect" is often noted by pet owners who monitor their pets' blood glucose at home.

The reason: anytime the glucose level drops too far or too fast, the animal's organism may defensively dump glucose (converted from glycogen in the liver), as well as hormones epinephrine and cortisol, into the bloodstream. (If these are insufficient, hypoglycemia ensues!) The glycogen raises the blood glucose, the other two may make the pet insulin-resistant for a time. This phenomenon was first documented by a Dr. Michael Somogyi. [33]

Even when raising the insulin dose slowly and carefully, it's possible to pass the correct dose and go on to an overdose. (A typical case is increasing bidaily dosage from 1 unit to 2, passing a correct dose of 1.5 units.) This may produce a rebound—a swift jump in blood glucose up from a dangerously low reading, to beyond the previous pre-shot level. The pet may be a bit less responsive to the same dose the next shot, from those other hormones. Repeating the overdose on subsequent days, and checking only pre-shot readings or urine glucose, can give the dangerously wrong impression that more insulin is needed! Remember to check occasionally at the expected nadir (low point) as well.

It's unusual to be monitoring glucose right when this happens, and typical to just continue the overdose, leading to a repeated rebound situation. So it's good to learn to recognize the patterns of repeated rebound.

A typical rebound pattern, most often seen with long-acting insulins, is a high, flat, unresponsive blood sugar over a period of days. Sometimes, often when raising dosage, this high flat curve will be punctuated by sudden drops to very low values, (with possible hypoglycemic events) followed by a fast return to high unresponsive numbers. (It's the sudden dip that distinguishes this pattern from inadequate insulin!)
When using shorter-acting insulins, repeated Somogyi rebound may manifest instead as rapidly alternating high and low blood sugar numbers with no apparent logic. The highs and lows will both be exaggerated compared to what you'd see on a smaller dose.
It's not always easy to tell a rebound from a regular curve showing insulin action ending normally. One way to tell the difference is to take a "curve" (repeated tests every 2 hours starting with the insulin shot) on a weekend and look for the shape of the curve. If the curve is valley-shaped, and gradual, then you are not seeing Somogyi rebound. Other shapes should arouse suspicion. In particular, if the rise after peak action is faster and rises higher than the original pre-insulin level and the original fall in blood sugar, you have good cause to consider rebound. The only sure way to check is to reduce dosage and look for a better-shaped curve.

A fairly sure sign: Anytime blood glucose numbers seem higher after dosage is raised, consider the possibility of a somogyi rebound. But other things can cause unexpectedly high blood glucose too, so look for a clear correlation with dosage changes.

Always consult your veterinarian when changing your pet's insulin.'

This is the sticky on Humulin N from the isg-might help keep your thoughts on track:


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... f=19&t=303
Hang in there
 
I used Humulin N for five years...'wrote the primer. GLAD you are hometesting!!!! REALLY need the 3, 4 & 5 hour numbers ... That is when many cats peak. Like Elise, I would love to know why the lantus did "not work". I would always suggest trying that before N. Some cats do AWESOME on N, Bunny was one, but most do NOT. I have seen more cats do very well on Lantus.

Please check out the N primer.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... f=19&t=303
 
thanks to all for posting. honestly, keep it coming, i am reading and considering everything but am extremely overwhelmed. keep in mind i am new here and also now sleep deprived. i have not gotten the ketostix yet, the store is not opened yet. pony is peeing excessively but her pooping is still in order, twice a day like clockwork. i do realize that the "curve" i made is really not one curve but two halves stuck together but these are the ONLY bg numbers that i have. before yesterday everything was periodic fructosamine.
here is a bit about the lantus situation from the past. when pony was diagnosed i asked my vet what the best insulin option was and she told me it was lantus. i used it for i think about a year using periodic fructosamine tests to eventually settle up to i believe 12 units. pony really didn't improve that much clinically. lethargy, not grooming, stopped sleeping in bed with me, layed on cold hard surfaces and refused warmth and softness. i took pony to a specialist who said it seemed pony was insulin resistant and that she probably had an underlying health condition but that she could not determine what it was. full blood panel looked good except for diabetes. we switched to vetsulin just to see if she might respond better to it and she did. like i said, her fructosamine tests still showed poor regulation but the less poor than with lantus. and clinically, she had perked up on the vetsulin and just became more of herself again.
maybe lantus would work and we just took the wrong approach or maybe one of the other insulins would work. should i STOP humulin n immediately and get levemir? i mean, then what would i have to say about the humulin later, that i gave up cause i couldn't figure it out? i just started it on monday. i have tried lots of things. she even did a raw food diet for six months back in the lantus days. like all of us, pony has had her ups and downs . also, there is so much outdated info all over the place on the internet that it is hard to know what is current. even the humulin page does not seem to be current as i believe several varieties of humulin discussed on that page have also been discontinued. does anyone know a complete list of actual insulins that are CURRENTLY available in the United States?
and then, and i am sure i am not alone in this boat, this is EXPENSIVE. I am a waitress, and not a rich one. And i'm single and am supposed to be at work later today and tomorrow. there won't be anyone to monitor pony. and i am a slow typer who "borrows" a wireless connection from a neighbor who does not always have the connection turned on so if i disappear you'll know what happened.
 
Oh Elise, I'm sorry this is tough for you.

It's hard to know what info to give to a newbie. I guess we (I certainly did and do) base it on what we would/did want to know.

I'msomeone who wants to know as much as possible and feel more in control for knowing, but at the same time remember how confusing and overwhelming it was.
I'm a Brit but living in Germany and had the added problem of the language barrier. I took a leap of faith in this board as I had nothing else other than vets telling me to PTS! I'm glad I did but also appreciate it was a huge leap of faith with my most precious furball.

There are a lot of insulins available in the US.
The main ones used on kitties are the ones you can see isg's for.
As I said earlier, your isg is the quietest these days and a lot of this is to do with the FDA warning on vetsulin and that newer insulins (Lantus/Levemir and now seemingly Prozinc-new form of PZI is the current thinking) are showing better results.

If you were on Lantus for a year, could be 2 things why didn't work-high dose kitty (different ballgame but until you get a good month+ of tests no way of knowing so suggest don't focus on right now) or kitty on way too high dose and was having bg's all over place making her feel crappy. Lethargy is a sign of both high and low glucose levels.

If you can just get some more sc's-glad to see Kimber posted. Yes your right info a tad old but still relevant.

Get to pharmacy when opens and let us know what ketone result is.

Think about Levemir-I think it does work out slightly cheaper than Lantus. Others can advise best place to get it from if your vet will write a script for it (don't have to get from vet).
Go to both Lantus and Levemir isgs and read the stickies. There are alot of Levemir users who post in Lantus isg-both insulins have almost identical actions so can be used with the same protocol.
You need to find out first if Pony? needs a reduced dose or more-then can work from there.
Let us know what your other spot checks are (sc's)
 
Forgot to say:

If you haven't clocked it already, diet plays a major part in FD and the dose kitty needs.
Raw diet is promoted as an excellent choice, just not everyone has time to do it (or-yuck the inclination! :lol: )

The lower carbs in food=the lower dose required as the bg's are lower.
If you changed a kittys food whilst giving insulin should mionitor.

Lucky was on dry-initial bg was something like 457.
Vets and rubbish responsive (PTS, do nothing, special Hills food!)
Came here, learnt about low carb wet.
Swapped her to Felix (at this point not giving insulin-vet said she wouldn't accept shots-another story!)
A week later bg 254 ish
That was heck of a drop and with no insulin!
 
Elise, if you can catch some urine, a cup or using a gravy ladle to catch and pour into a cup, do it ASAP. Ketones, if there are any, will stay in that urine sample at whatever level they may be, for hours. I've done this testing with my Mishka and trust me, those ketones hold in the urine for testing till you can get some ketone strips. Ketostix or Keto-Diastix, either one of those from a pharmacy.
 
on my way to get the ketone strips. i finished updating my curve if anyone has a moment to scroll back and look at it i'd appreciate advice.
 
With preshot numbers that high, I would recommend a longer acting insulin (Lantus/Levemir/ProZinc) rather than a short acting one, like Humulin, that will allow the bg to sky-rocket at +10/+12.

There is a possibility that your kitty is a high dose kitty, which is usually caused by 2 things: Acromegaly (pituitary issue causes excess growth hormone which acts as an insulin binder) or Insulin Auto Antibodies (kitty's body sees the insulin as a foreign substance and attacks it). There are special blood tests for both so you can know for certain it is one or the other. There is a high dose forum on here and you can take a look at the spreadsheets to see what those kitty mommies have to deal with.

Based off of the high dose you were on for Vetsulin and with Lantus, I would guess this is what you are dealing with, but without preshot testing (at the least) we don't know in hindsight if it was rebound, or that is really what kitty needed.

As others have suggested, getting ketone readings will give you a starting point in gauging if your kitty is getting too little insulin or too much. We are dealing with ketones at much lower numbers, and it is the primary guide we are using to gauge if Oscar is getting not enough insulin since his body wants to fight it no matter what dose I give him.
 
i just went to 3 stores with pharmacys but nothing is open until 9am so i still don't have ketone strips. please help me understand how the ketone strips are going to help me understand if her insulin dose is too high or too low.

also, i called a vet that is open today and was told that pony is in an emergency and needs to go to an emergency vet immediately. what are they gonna do there? probably test her bg and give her insulin, right? can someone please look at the numbers i put up for pony's curve and give advice based on that. i don't understand the point of doing the bg tests if you can't do anything with the results. is it that i need more results?
 
elise take a breath ok, i know this is scary and big. i don't see you spread sheet so i'll just say you test for ketones to see if you NEED the emergency vet...that's what they will check for. it's easy to do, the hardest part is catching your cat taking a pee so you can slide the stick under the stream.
we need to see the spread sheet in order to help you with your dosing.
i am computor illiterate and cannot walk you thru setting that up.
will someone who can please offer a phone # for her and help her set up.
that's what gator did for me. it is invaluable.
and elise we are with you.
lori
 
and there is also PZI pro zinc which is less expensive and there are more eyes on pzi that humalin. just a thought.
 
and there is also PZI pro zinc which is less expensive and there are more eyes on pzi that humalin. just a thought.
 
I don't think there is a need to go to an emergency vet quite yet. If ketones are present at all (trace amount), I generally take it as kitty is not getting as much insulin as they really need. If they are above trace, then you need to be more aggressive with your dose increases and try to get water in him as much as possible. If it is really high, then you take kitty to the emergency vet.

As long as your kitty is eating a bit, not vomiting, and is not hiding/lethargic, then I think you are fine.
 
Elise,

I'm so sorry that Pony is having such a hard time. It's great that you're home-testing now! That's really the only way to know whether the FD is well-controlled. Many vets don't recommend home-testing because they don't want the care responsibilities to seem overwhelming for the humans, but it's not really that difficult and it's so much better for the cats.

Like everyone else has said, there are conditions like acromegaly that will cause a need for large insulin doses, but you can't know if that's true for Pony because his BG wasn't being tested routinely in the past. It's possible that his doses of Lantus, and maybe even Vetsulin, were actually too high, but his body managed to cope by chronically rebounding or finding some sort of safe equilibrium condition.

I hate to confuse the issue of ketones, but Angel actually got them both from too much and from too little insulin. At diagnosis, she was ketoacidotic from lack of insulin. This is the extreme condition where the blood pH becomes too low, and this absolutely must be treated with IV fluids at the vet or the cat will die. If ketones are detected and the underlying problem is corrected before it gets to this point, IV fluids may not be necessary, but sub-Q fluids probably will be. In Angel's case, she also developed ketones from rebounding when her insulin doses were too high.

From the numbers you posted, it looks like Pony may not be getting enough duration from N. If you can't give shots more often than every 12 hours, I suggest that you try to use one of the long-acting insulins - you could try going back to Lantus again, this time armed with advantage of home-testing and the help of all the great people on this board or the Lantus ISG. You could try Levemir, which many find similar to Lantus in duration, etc., or you could try ProZinc, which wound up working for Angel better than Lantus or Levemir did.

Does your vet know that you're home-testing now? Is she supportive of that? Were BG curves ever done at the vet, when you were trying to regulate Pony on Lantus before, or did she only use the fructosamine tests?
 
Elise,

sorry been out most of afternoon evening.

I've looked at your numbers. Now I know they are actually two different sets (yes?) however, it looks to me as if you are possibly getting some movement.(577 to 200+) Thus, just forget Acro and IAA for now. Think it may confuse (and scare you-which I think you've had enough of) you.

The keto diastix are to test for keytones. I'll go and get another link for them shorty and edit this post (now on own computer)
I do not want to suggest you consider cutting Pony (is that kitty's name?)'s dose until I know what keytone result is.

You have to appreciate, we can't see,feel Pony, you can. Insulin as said earlier is powerful stuff. None of us (except Dr Lisa) are veternarians. We have Jess/Earl and Jojo/Bunny as vet techs. Thus any advice is given based on what we have earned by having diabetic cats. Thus, it is your decision ultimately whether to take any action on the advice we give (testing for keytones is not going to cause any harm. Cutting/increasing dose obviously has potential either way).
Thus to suggest you cut dose (test for rebound) has to be done with as much knowledge on yours and our parts.

Can you tell us:
Is Pony; peeing, pooping, preening, purring, playful?
What if anything has changed?
Any history of crystals or UTI's?

And no, I'm unclear why vets said to take Pony in.

Is there anything else right now you would like explained/don't quite understand?
Gonna go get the keytone link for you. :-D
Ok here is a link (think it's the most layman type one)
http://felinediabetes.com/ketones.htm

Something else you could check-no smell like pear drops? (fruity. I'm not sure if also ben described as something like nail varnish or nail varnish remover?-one of possible signs of keytones)
I must go sleepus soon as nearly midnight here.
Hopefully someone else will be around to help if I go off line before you reply.
 
just tested for ketones and it was negative. also, just raised her by one unit to 4 units. i will be by her side constantly as i got a sub for work and will keep testing her bg. last night over the course of the night she did finish her pm meal. just now she at half of her am meal. she does get lethargic and uncomfortable as her numbers go into the 400's and up. she doesn't seem to be in any acute distress but she just lays in different positions than normal, stretched out on her side, looking bloated and kind of like a beached whale. she isn't hiding away. peeing is excessive and pooping is normal for now. she is getting kinda wary of me from all the ear pricking, but she has sought a bit of affection. my goal right now is just to keep things stable until monday when i can talk to my vet. my vet is really nice and does not even know yet that i started home testing. she is not an advocate of it, but she will not be opposed to me doing it and i know she will take the numbers i get and try to help me. she will support any insulin switching that seems wise. i would love to continue the lantus discussion at a later time but right now i am just wanting to keep pony alive and well until monday. right now i think 2 things are happening: 1)Humulin N is not long acting enough, and maybe would require a third shot everyday if i wanted to stick it out with humulin n. and 2)pony is a cat that does require a high dose and so 3 units and likely even the 4 i just gave are not enough. I don't know though. maybe this is somagyi and i just really screwed up by increasing. but i just feel i need to try something different so the numbers aren't going into the upper 500's again today. i think it is likely that on monday i will switch away from Humulin N. Also, I am now not having such an easy time getting the blood from her ears. Lots of repeated poking with no blood. I do try and milk it out but i can't.

So many people have written to me with help here and i appreciate every thought and word . It is true that i am overwhelmed and it is hard to even remember all the details of each of your replys in order to formulate my next reply. i really am a slow typer with a shaky internet connection and several times i've gotten kicked offline in between writing a response and sending it. Hopefully one day i'll look back on all of this and see it a little more clearly but as for now i do have a little tunnel vision going on. Thanks for all your patience and i apologize if i haven't been able to address each of your concerns.
 
Can understand yor action.
See if you can get some more sc's.

Without a clear workup to this dose, I would have been more inclined to cut dose by half, keep testing for keytones and see if you get a better response.
Angie and Charmi (used to post on old board) said that the Humulin took best part of a week to work somygi out of system so not sure you would have seen a huge movement before Monday if you'dcutdose.

Pony is your kitty and you have to do what you think is right.

Definitely support your idea of swapping to longer acting insulin. If you do, would start at 1u and work dose up in increments, alongside testing for keytones and sc's.

Good luck :mrgreen:

ps-Cold surfaces are often preferred by diabetic kitties-no idea why (Lucky was same)
As long as eating and 5 p's should be o.k.

Keep checking keytones each day.
 
thanks kate. i probably should have cut dose in half. what are sc's and how do i test for them? i will make sure to start lower if i do wind up switching insulins. i need a nap now but i will try to check back in here a little later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top