Urgent help. Do I take the lantus shot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Rightly or wrongly I have given a reduced shot of 0.5 50 minutes after his usual dose and after he has eaten
 
Hi Sarah,

Why are you considering a lower dose?

I am looking at the numbers for today (I assume the blank after 10/7 is today) The 223 and 202 yellows. Is this what you are concerned about?

I would agree that Remi has not been here in a while but you were giving him Steroids then (10/2 and 10/3) and a higher dose ..Right?

Now that he is off the steroids, the insulin might be working better.

I am thinking that we are looking at NDW (New Dose Wonkiness) . This may be Remi's reaction to the increase from .5 to .75 10/7 PM.

If you are able to test +2,+4, +6 and +8 tonight, I would say to hold the dose @ .75. If you are not able to do those tests, then I would say reduce to .5. Better to be safe.

It would be interesting to see what Remi's PS is. This should be fairly soon or did it pass already?

I was adjusting the dose and ran into a 150 that had me panicked (before I came to FDMB) and not having any other reference. I actually skipped, which in hindsight was not the correct thing to do.

Let us know what his PS is and then we can go from there.

Update: Sorry I missed the shot time

Kevin
 
Hi Kevin
Thanks for your reply

Oh dear the spreadsheet has gone wrong again. I am sure it is because I update it via my iPad. It's really glitchy. If you look at the mmol/l tab on my sheet you can see the figures went lower into the blue zone.

Will try to see if I can get it to read properly again.

I did end up reducing the dose to 0.5. I will keep monitoring as best I can. I just did a +1 reading and it is the same number as his preshot dose. His preshot was 10.5 /189. His + 1 is 10.4/ 187

Cheers

Sarah
 
Sorry - I'm on my Android phone and can't see your spreadsheet (sometimes it will work)

What is your current no shot limit? As you get regular mid-cycle data, you may lower it from 200 to 150, by about 10 mg/dL a week. (190, 180, 170, 160, 150). If you're shooting Lantus on a lower pre-shot than that, it is a good idea to be posting in the Lantus Tight Regulation forum for advice; someone is often on.

What is the lowest nadir you've gotten on the current dose? If always well above 50 mg/dL, that increases the safety margin.

How long have you been giving this dose? If more than 5-7 days, the response is more stable with Lantus. If you just changed the dose, monitor carefully.

You can always stall 30 minutes without feeding and re-test.
If over 150 mg/dL and rising, chances are it may be safe to shoot.
If dropping, chances are it may be best to skip, especially if you can't be home and awake to monitor.
 
Hi BJM
The spreadsheet is abit hit and miss for me at the moment too. I am sure working on it on the iPad mucks it up. It goes all glitchy.

I posted the message on the tight regulation for exactly the reason you mentioned :-x . The members have been most helpful. Yes it is the first time that the pre shot has gone that low but his nadir is well above the 50 you mentioned. I ended up stalling and going for a lower dose but from speaking to others I think it was probably okay to stick to 0.75. The pre shot was always over 150.

Remi is still fairly new to lantus and I only increased his dose yesterday to 0.75 so I think the depot was filling up and I got a number much lower than I expected.

many thanks for your advice.

Sarah
 
Hi Sarah,

Your doing just fine, your spreadsheet may need some counseling though. LOL

Glad to see that Remi is "quite bright" today. Always a nice sign.

Remi has some nice blues going on. However, it is looking like a bounce. Not to worry, just be watchful. The more data that you have, the better you will be able to make good decisions on.

Please check at the +4 and +6 to see how low the .5 took him. You may find it goes a little lower and then the AMPS may be higher than you would like.

Do not get discouraged. It is all a part of the "Sugar Dance". There are No instructions for the steps, No Professional Dance Partner and No music that you have ever heard before. However, you still must dance and perform your best, for Remi. He is hoping that you score a 10. It may not be today or the next but with a little work, you will shine!

Usually stalling does not involve a lower dose. When stalling you wait to see if the the numbers rise and shoot same dose or if numbers are not rising, either reduce or skip.But that is a discussion for another time. Just watch him and take good (frequent) tests.

The more numbers you have, the better we are able to help guide you.

Take care,
Kevin
 
Thanks Kevin. That is such good advice.

Remi looks better on the lantus. I think because it is perhaps not such a hard and fast drop. When you say the blues look like a bounce I thought only the higher numbers were the bounce? Are you saying you can bounce low of have I just misunderstood you :lol:

I wasn't sure about the stall thing as his numbers just stayed the same and didn't really rise or fall. I basically went into full panic mode. Now it has happened once I hopefully won't get into the same state as tonight (but no promises ).


I don't know what I have done to my spreadsheet! It went glitchy when I started using the iPad app and I thought I had fixed it but tonight it is worse than ever. I have to manually add my US numbers (hence the weird blue colour). I think I might just copy the mmol and start a new spreadsheet.

Cheers

Sarah
 
Hi Sarah,

It looks like your in the middle of a full fledged bounce.

Like a bouncing ball, it has to go down in order to go up. Or if you throw the ball up first, it has to come down in order to bounce again...right?

Yesterday's PM cycle looked real good, right up till that +10 of 401. Oh Remi, How could you do that to poor Sarah ? She is trying so hard to follow the steps.......

Other more experienced users will come by and take a look and maybe make some recommendations.

The only one that I would give would be to maintain .5 for 3 - 5 days and see if you can smooth out Remi's curve. Even if it is an elevated (Yellow) curve, it is better than the blues to red.

All the best!
Kevin
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top