Urgent: Comments Wanted: Reuben-2 fur shots - shoot early?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Urgent: Comments Wanted: Reuben-2 fur shots - shoot earl

Do you want to bring forward the shooting time for Reuben? What is your current schedule?
If you are to shoot an hr early, the next shot should be 12 hrs later. Can you give more detail.
 
Re: Urgent: Comments Wanted: Reuben-2 fur shots - shoot earl

yes, i`m just trying to shoot earlier to slowly adjust from a midnight/noon schedule to a 9am/pm schedule.

i shot this am at 10:45, and want to shoot now - a half an hour early. since it looks clear to me that i just did 2 fur shots in a row i thought i could do this adjustment tonight.

does this make sense?
 
Re: Urgent: Comments Wanted: Reuben-2 fur shots - shoot earl

okay, i just did it. i would never do an adjustment at night, but it is so clear that he hasn`t gotten any insulin in his system in 24 hours that i am not worried about not being able to monitor him for this 30 minute adjustment.
 
Re: Urgent: Comments Wanted: Reuben-2 fur shots - shoot earl

Have you tested Reuben? What is his bg and has he been going up? If it is high and has been going up, then yes you could do the adjustment since the last shot was a furshot anyway but remember that your new time in the morning will be 12 hours from when you shoot now.

Can I help with the furshots? Do you need some tips?

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: Urgent: Comments Wanted: Reuben-2 fur shots - shoot earl

Thanks Sienne, I wondered if I was supposed to indicate that.

His numbers today were AMPS 456 +3/471 +6/480 +9/407 +11 467

Melanie, yes, please! I would Love some tips on how to inject successfully. I think I may have even just done it wrong again right now!! Argh!!
 
Re: Urgent: Comments Wanted: Reuben-2 fur shots - shoot earl

Hang in there! I've done two fur shots in a row, too. It is so upsetting! Someone once told me that getting your cat regulated is a marathon, not a sprint. It helps a little bit to hear that doesn't it? Just a little, huh? Sleep well. You are a hero to your cat whether he realizes it or not. You are doing a great job, and your heart is in the right place. He's a very lucky cat!
 
Re: Urgent: Comments Wanted: Reuben-2 fur shots - shoot earl

Oh yes Dale, it helps sooo much to hear that! and thank you so much for your kind words, they came right when we needed them!

And, if you have any tips for getting the needle where it`s supposed to go, i love to hear them :mrgreen:

Alexa
 
Re: Urgent: Comments Wanted: Reuben-2 fur shots - shoot earl

I think we all have done it one time or another and more than once. I'm certainly no stranger to fur shots. :lol:

I don't know if you are using long or short needles. I prefer short needles. I find with the long ones you can go through the skin and come out the other side if you're not careful and also it's more painful. You want to pinch the fur/skin by the scruff of the neck, a little further back, where the skin is fatter and you can grab a fat roll easily if you're having a hard time. You'll see the skin tent at the bottom of where you grabbed. Take your time. I pet and rub Racci's back and grab a few times in between rubs until I'm satisfied with the piece I grabbed. You can also grab a thin amount of skin but it makes it harder not to go through it. When you're ready to shoot, turn your needle to the spot where you can see the chiseling on the tip and that should be the top when it goes in. Then put the needle in from the bottom in the tented indentation or right above it pointing up with the skin, not straight ahead and release it when you feel comfortable. Unless your cat is fighting, take your time.

It's important to remember to point the needle up towards his head not straight ahead so you don't get muscles or anything that will hurt or go thru the skin if you have a thin piece of flesh.

Another thing that might help is to try to feed Reuben water right before the shot. It's very hard to grab skin on a dehydrated cat. The better hydrated he is the easier it will be.

I also warm the insulin in the syringe by holding it in my fingers a few minutes before shooting. It makes a big difference in comfort for the kitties.

Please let me know if anything is unclear or if you have any questions. Good luck getting back on schedule and getting his #s back down.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: Urgent: Comments Wanted: Reuben-2 fur shots - shoot earl

Thank you Melanie! :-)

I am using short needles, but I wasn`t turning the bevel up - and I wasn`t pointing the needle up either.

I just tried following your instructions, so we'll see what the numbers look like today...

Fingers crossed!

Thanks again so much! :mrgreen:

-Alexa
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top