Urgent amps dosage advise

Thanks I really need to learn how to do that and to stop panicking
Breathe Amber, breathe! Nice slow, steady breaths. It's one way of dealing with stress and panic attacks. Worst panic attack I ever had, was in the dentist's chair in the middle of having a filling done.

Mindfulness breathing really helps me. Try this article: https://theconversation.com/why-we-are-hard-wired-to-worry-and-what-we-can-do-to-calm-down-127674
and see if it helps you.

I do expect that Lucy will run a bit high for a few cycles. But let's give it at least 3-6 cycles before you change the dose from the 0.5U dose I recommended. Prefer to see how she does for at least 6 cycles. I know how nerve wracking those high numbers can be, but you have to have patience and wait it out. Most of the high numbers are because of the skipped shot last night. But you needed to skip to catch up on your sleep. Hope you are well rested today.

What is your favorite color Amber?
 
Breathe Amber, breathe! Nice slow, steady breaths. It's one way of dealing with stress and panic attacks. Worst panic attack I ever had, was in the dentist's chair in the middle of having a filling done.

Mindfulness breathing really helps me. Try this article: https://theconversation.com/why-we-are-hard-wired-to-worry-and-what-we-can-do-to-calm-down-127674
and see if it helps you.

I do expect that Lucy will run a bit high for a few cycles. But let's give it at least 3-6 cycles before you change the dose from the 0.5U dose I recommended. Prefer to see how she does for at least 6 cycles. I know how nerve wracking those high numbers can be, but you have to have patience and wait it out. Most of the high numbers are because of the skipped shot last night. But you needed to skip to catch up on your sleep. Hope you are well rested today.

What is your favorite color Amber?
Ok and thanks for everything
Royal Purple is my favorite color.But I like almost every share of purple as long as it doesn't look to pink
 
Here are some purple "patience pants" for you to wear, from the lending closet. Bring them out when you want to change the dose, but it's too early! Pass them along to someone else that needs them.

purple patience pants.jpg


They are meant to be a reminder that it takes time to get a handle on this disease, this feline diabetes.
A reminder that this is a "marathon, not a sprint" and it will take time for you to learn and for your cat to get better BG numbers.
 

Attachments

  • purple patience pants.jpg
    purple patience pants.jpg
    8.8 KB · Views: 443
What @Deb & Wink said.
Stick with this dose for now.
She was racing down the dosing scale. You were seeing better numbers with a lower dose. Think of it as gearing down on a hill. You will still get there eventually and (bonus) you can get some sleep and regroup.

If you re handing out purple pants, I'll take a pair if the leg is long enough.
 
Here are some purple "patience pants" for you to wear, from the lending closet. Bring them out when you want to change the dose, but it's too early! Pass them along to someone else that needs them.

View attachment 55768

They are meant to be a reminder that it takes time to get a handle on this disease, this feline diabetes.
A reminder that this is a "marathon, not a sprint" and it will take time for you to learn and for your cat to get better BG numbers.
Thanks
 
Ok thanks still have a lot to learn
Keep asking questions. It's how you learn.
You know the saying, "The only dumb question, is the one you don't ask?".
Well, we feel that way too. No questions are dumb.

So a question from me to you.
How in the world do you manage to take care of 10 indoor kitties?
 
Keep asking questions. It's how you learn.
You know the saying, "The only dumb question, is the one you don't ask?".
Well, we feel that way too. No questions are dumb.

So a question from me to you.
How in the world do you manage to take care of 10 indoor kitties?
@Deb & Wink
It's a lot easier than taking care of to elderly parents in two different cities..lol
It's not hard Im out on disability.. Most of them get along i have 3 that are my troublemakers Boo (sprays when he is stressed)and Buddy don't like each other
( it's getting better) Ricky doesn't like Boo... The hardest part is cleaning All the litter boxes. I have a bad back and bad knees so sometimes it makes it difficult... But I wouldn't have it any other way
 
Keep asking questions. It's how you learn.
You know the saying, "The only dumb question, is the one you don't ask?".
Well, we feel that way too. No questions are dumb.

So a question from me to you.
How in the world do you manage to take care of 10 indoor kitties?

@Deb & Wink , @Red & Rover (GA) @Panic
@Bandit's Mom , @Critter Mom @tiffmaxee

we waited the 6 cycle as of PMPS ON 8/26
What are your thoughts on her dosage tomorrow morning if she is testing like she has been should I keep her at 0.5 U ..
Thanks everyone for your help over the last couple of days
 
I'm kind of the same, I hesitate to give increasing advice. I think she might be ready to go up to 0.75u but I'd rather hear from someone else to confirm.

Are you still not feeding until +6? She really needs to be eating earlier in the cycle to help steer the drop.
 
I'm kind of the same, I hesitate to give increasing advice. I think she might be ready to go up to 0.75u but I'd rather hear from someone else to confirm.

Are you still not feeding until +6? She really needs to be eating earlier in the cycle to help steer the drop.
She eats at 7 am 1 pm 7 am and either midnight or 1 am
 
Can you feed at 9 am/pm? 1 am/pm snack is fine but you need something before that too.
Think of it as tapping the breaks while going downhill. Do it early to slow the drop. Tapping the breaks at the bottom of the hill doesn't do much.
 
Can you feed at 9 am/pm? 1 am/pm snack is fine but you need something before that too.
Think of it as tapping the breaks while going downhill. Do it early to slow the drop. Tapping the breaks at the bottom of the hill doesn't do much.
I'm usually home 24/7 unless one of my parents has a Drs appointment.. I don't work so I can feed her at any time
 
Feeding after nadir will "use up" the insulin quicker and won't last until shot-time. Nothing wrong with a 0 carb treat like chicken, but keep the meals before nadir (which looks to be around +6, or 1 am/pm for Amber)

+1 to +6: mini meals
+7 to +10: stick to treats if you feed
+11 to +12: no food
 
Back
Top