Ramon's mom
Member
Please advise me. After being rather high and currently on a higher (for him ) dose he now has a PMPS of 169 (AlphaTrak2). Do I shoot the 1.2 or do I lower it? Please advise!
Sorry! I wasn't specific enough. You have a few options:So I wait to shoot for 2 hours, test and then give an injection if he goes up? (I really am pretty new to this protocol). Thanks for your reply!
That’s common and we call it a food spike. It isn’t because food is too high in carbs. Rather, the diabetic kitty’s pancreas isn’t producing much, if any, insulin in response to eating and the insulin injection hasn’t kicked in yet.Boy his BG readings never seem logical. His +2 is higher and not lower. He did eat right after the insulin but he has absolutely not had any carbs! I don't understand this. At least its not too high and it certainly isn't too low (168 at PMPS and 188 at +2).