Urgent ? About shot this am

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan Radar (GA)

Member Since 2015
I just tested Radar and his BG was 182. I have not seen such a low number pre shot and am wondering if adjusting his insulin back one unit makes sense to keep him safe. ???
 
Dropping the dose when it looks like you are doing a food switch might be a good idea, 8U b.i.d i a lot of insulin. But going from 8U to 1U might be too drastic of a drop too. Are you able to monitor Radar? Maybe try cutting the dose in half first and see how that goes. Hopefully someone with more experience with Vetsulin will come along, I've only used it for a few days.
 
Thanks for your thoughts. I decided to give him 7 units instead of 8. I may be panicking but this seems like a good choice at the moment. I will be watching him closely today that's for sure.
 
How soon will I be able to tell if the food I just gave Radar helped his BG numbers raise?? I just tested him at +2 and his reading was 62. I gave him a snack which he ate with no hesitation. He does not exhibit any hypo symptoms.
 
Hi Jan,
That's a pretty sizable drop in 2 hours but I know that Vetsulin is a faster acting one. I've never used it so I don't know if that's typical. Normally, on an AlphaTrak meter, you want to be on the lookout for signs of hypoglycemia for any reading below 68. Can you test him again? If his numbers are still dropping, give him a small amount of food with honey or Karo syrup in it to help get his blood sugar back above 68. You'll want to keep testing every 30 minutes or so until you're sure he's staying in safe numbers. I'll find the link to the Hypo instructions and post here too incase you need it. Looks like Radar has earned a dose reduction! Hopefully, someone with more experience with Vetsulin will chime in soon.
Keep us posted!

Joan
 
Thanks Joan for the link. When I tested at +3 he was 60 so I gave a little more food and I'll cont to monitor closely.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top