Upside down curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

Camille and Oliver

Member Since 2020
What does a curve that is upside down mean? This is the first curve I have completed and am surprised to see the numbers going up between dosages rather than down? I have reduced insulin dosage after a hypo day (with vets direction) and a couple days where he was too low to shoot the second dose. I find this all so confusing!!
 
I rather suspect your kitty is bouncing from the blues he saw last night. During a bounce, numbers bobble around. Here is the description of bouncing:

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
I agree with Wendy that those higher numbers are likely from bouncing. I notice however that the blue you caught with testing was rather late in the cycle so it's possible Oliver dropped even lower during that cycle and was on his way back up when that 171 occurred.

It would be really helpful if you could get at a minimum, a before bed test every night. A lot of cats go lower over night than during the day and without at least one test at night, you're missing half the picture.
 
Great, thank you. We had a couple more high numbers mid cycle again today, but I am sure that is at least partly stress induced after a trip to the vet for a checkup this morning.

I will start doing checks before bed every night and whenever I wake up with my daughter or the puppy needing out I will check again. Not often I get to sleep through the night at this stage in life so I may as well make the most of those wake ups.

Thank you for the information!
 
Hmmm... I checked at +3 last night, and really should I have got up and checked further into the cycle but strangely wasn't woken up by my family (rare!). This morning he was too low to shoot. Since the goal is to shoot twice a day, and in the last week I have had 3 no shoot cycles, should I be considering lowering to 1 unit twice a day despite the high mid cycle numbers I have been seeing?
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom & @Larry and Kitties would you mind checking out Oliver's spreadsheet and sharing some of your great knowledge by advising on whether or not I should lower insulin dosage again based on another no shoot this evening? I understand the goal is to have two equal insulin shots/day but I am getting lots of no shoot cycles.

Another question on that, should it always be a no shoot, or would you ever suggest giving a half dose when he is in blue numbers?

Thank you!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top